BAGALKOT DISTRICT (KARNATAKA) : Badami, the onetime capital of the Chalukyas , is noted several temples, some structural & other rock-cut, of the 6th & 7th Centuries. The foundations of Badami, or Vatapi as it was called, were laid by Pulakeshi I (535 – 566 AD) his son Kirtivarman, the Ist (567 – 598 AD), beautified the town with temples & other buildings
BADAMI CAVES: 1 km, this group of 4 cave temples have been carved out of the hill opposite Badami fort. The Chalukyan king, Mangalesa (598-610 AD) was responsible for the completion of these cave temples. Of the four, three are Brahmanical, while the fourth is Jain. Nearly 2000 steps have to be climbed to reach the cave.
BADAMI FORT: 2 Kms. strategically situated on top of the hill, the fort encloses large granaries, a treasury impressive temples on top of the northern end of the hill. Malegitti Shivalaya, perhaps the oldest temple of the lot, is dedicated to the benign aspect of Shiva as the garland maker. Placed on the summit of a rocky hill, the temple is built of stone, finely joined without mortar, & with Dravidian tower.
AIHOLE: Once the capital of the early Chalukyan dynasty (6th to 8th centuries), Aihole is a picturesque village on the banks of the Malaprabha river. Variously called Ayyavole & Aryapura in the inscriptions, Aihole is historically famous as the cradle of Hindu temple architecture. There are about 125 temples divided into 22 groups scattered all over the villages and nearby fields. Most of these temples were built between the 6th & 8th centuries and some even earlier
DURGA TEMPLE: The temple derives its name from Durgadagudi meaning ‘temple near the fort’. Dedicated to Vishnu, the temple appears to be a Hindu adaptation of the Buddhist chaitya (hall) with its apsidal end. Standing on a high platform with a ‘rekhanagara’ type of Shikhara, it is the most elaborately decorated monument in Aihole. The columns at the entrance and within the porch are carved with figures and ornamental reliefs. The temple appears to be a late 7th or early 8th century construction.
LADH KHAN TEMPLE: The experimental nature of temple building by the Chalukyas is best elaborated in the Ladh Khan Temple, located south of the Durga Temple. Not knowing how to build a temple, they built it in the Panchayat hall style. The windows were filled up with lattice work in the northern style and the sanctum was added later on. The sanctum is built against the back wall and the main shrine has a Shivalinga along with a Nandi. Above the center of the hall, facing the sanctum, is a second smaller sanctum with images carved on the outer walls. The temple, built about 450 AD, gets its name from a Muslim prince who converted it into his residence
MEGUTI TEMPLE: The only dated monument in Aihole, the Meguti Temple was built atop a small hill in 634 AD. Now partly in ruins, possibly never completed, this temple provides an important evidence of the early development of the Dravidian style of Architecture. The inscription dating the monument is found on one of the outer walls of the temple and records its construction by Ravikeerti, who was a commander & minister of Pulakesin
RAVANPHADI CAVE: Located south-east of the Hucchimalli Temple, this rock-cut temple is assigned to the 6th century. The sanctum in there are wall is larger than these in Badami cave temples and it is provided with a vestibule flanked by carved panels, entered through a triple entrance.
HUCCHIMALLI TEMPLE: This appears to be one of the earliest groups of temples in Aihole, located to the north of village behind the Tourist Home. The sanctum has a northern style “Rekhanagara” tower over it. The vestibule in front of the sanctum was introduced for the first time here.
GOWDA TEMPLE: Close to Ladh Khan Temple & built in the similar lines, the Gowda Temple was dedicated to Bhagavati. Standing on a high molded base and having about 16 fairly plain pillars, this temple was probably built even earlier.
SURAYANARAYANA TEMPLE: Located to the north-east of Ladh Khan Temple, the sanctum of this temple has a 0.6 meter high icon of Surya along with his two consorts Usha & Sandhaya, being drawn by horses. The temple, dating from the 7th – 8th centuries, has a four pillared inner and a ‘Rekhanagara’ tower over the sanctum.
KONTI GROUP OF TEMPLES: Situated in the middle of bazaar, the earliest of these temples was probably built in the 5th century. The first temple has panels of Bramha, Shiva & a reclined Vishnu on the ceiling.
PATTADAKAL: The tiny village of Pattadakal is situated on the banks of the Malaprabha river. Referred to as Petrigal by Ptolemy, Pattadakal was later known variously as Raktapura (Red Town) & Pattadakal Kisuvolal . This place reached its pinnacle of glory under the Chalukyas from the seventh to the ninth centuries functioning as a royal commemorative site.
JAMBULINGA TEMPLE: Another small temple with a fine figure of the Dancing Shiva with Nandi & Parvathi by his side. Built with a northern style tower, there is a horse-shoe arched projection on its facade.
VIRUPAKSHA TEMPLE: The Mallikarjuna & the Virupaksha temples were built by two queens of Vikaramaditya II to commemorate the victory of the Chalukyas over the Pallavas. As the Virupaksha temple was built by Queen Lokamahadevi, it was originally called Lokeshwara. The temple is rich in sculpture like those of Lingodbhava, Nataraja, Ravananugraha & Ugranarasimha. Built in the southern Dravida style, it is the largest temple in the enclosure.
JAIN TEMPLE: Half a Kilometer from the enclosure, on the Pattadakal-Badami Road, is this Jain temple built in the Dravidian style. It has some very beautiful sculpture & probably dates from the ninth century.
GALAGANATH TEMPLE: Built of sandstone, the tower is in the northern “Rekhanagara” style. The temple was probably never completed. It contains a beautiful sculpture of Shiva in the act of killing the Andhakasura
SANGHAMESWARA TEMPLE: Perhaps the oldest temple in Pattadakal, it was built by King Vijayaditya ( 696-733 AD) & was called Vijayewara after him. Now called Sangameshwara, the temple is built in Dravidian style & consists of a sanctum, inner passage & a hall. There are sculptures on the outer wall like those of Ugranarasimha & Nataraja.
KADA SIDDESHWARA TEMPLE: This small temple, built in the North Indian style, consists of shrine & a hall. There is a fine sculpture which depicts Shiva holding a serpent & trident in his raised arms with Parvathi by his side.
MALIKARJUNA TEMPLE: Built by Trailokyamahadevi, the queen of Vikramaditya II (734-745AD), it was originally called Trailokeshwara Temple. It is similar to the Virupaksha Temple but smaller in size. The ceiling has panels of Gajalakshmi & Nataraja with Parvathi. Pillars in the temple depict the birth & life of Krishna. There are sculptures of Mahishasuramardini (very similar to the one in Mamallapuram) & Ugranarasimha.
PAPANATHA TEMPLE: Just outside the enclosure is this ornate temple built about 680 AD. This was an early attempt to develop the northern style of architecture, which was later abandoned in favour of the more balanced Dravidian or Pallava style. It contains impressive sculpted scenes from Ramayana & Mahabharatha
KUDALA SANGAMA: Most historic place since around 800 years. The famous rivers Krishna and Ghataprabha merge here and flow towards Srisaila (another historic palce) of Andra Pradesh. To improve this historic place, Government has established a Kudala Sangama Development Board and provided nearly Rs. 45.00 Crores to develop these places has one of the most sought piligrim centre. Herewith we are showing some of the photo’s which shows most recently takenup works to improve the piligrim centre. Kudala Sangama is 15 Km’s from Almatti (Dam Site) and 45 Km’s from Bagalkot.
BANGALORE RURAL DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Bangalore Rural district was formed in 15th August 1986, when Bangalore district was divided into Bangalore Rural and Bangalore Urban. Bangalore Rural District is located in the South-Eastern corner of Karnataka State. Bangalore Rural District is bounded on the North by Tumkur and Kolar Districts: on the South by Mandya and Mysore districts & Tamil Nadu State; on the east by Kolar district and Tamil Nadu state and on the West by Tumkur and Mandya Districts.
CHANNAPATNA TOYS: Channapatna, a small hamlet 46 kms. From Bangalore on the Mysore highway, excels in lacquerware, a craft practised today by over 3000 local craftspersons. Lacquerware products include brightly coloured wooden toys, door curtains, powder boxes and napkin rings, besides a range of distinctive jewellery.
SHIVAGANGE: Shivagange gets its name from the Holy places and temples it hosts. The spring water found here is considered to the sacred water ‘Gange’.The hillock has few temples atop and a statue of Nandi carved out of single stone is a beauty. It is about two kilometers from the bottom of the hillock where there is a village to the top of the hill. There are many temples all along the way. The place being a huge collection of boulders and solid granite rock structures, it invites not just pilgrims but rock climbers and adventure lovers as well. Though there are no bolted routes, there is plenty of climbing.
DEVANAHALLI FORT: The fort was built in 1501 by Mallabairegowda of Avati clan, with the consent of ‘Devappa’ a feudatory at Devanadoddi. Subsequently the name was changed to Devanahalli.The fort remained under the Avati rulers until 1747, when Mysore Dalawai, Nanjarajaiah, attacked the fort and captured it. Subsequently Devanahalli was usurped by the Marathas and reclaimed by the Mysore army under the leadership of Haider Ali.During the reign of Tipu Sultan Lord Cornwallis laid siege to the fort and took possession of it during the Mysore War of 1791.The original mud fort built by the Avati rulers was renovated and the present stone fort was built by Haidar Ali and Tipu Sultan after they recaptured the place from the Marathas.
KAVERI FISHING CAMP, BHIMESWARI (RAMNAGAR): The river Kaveri at Bhimeswari, abounds in a variety of fish including the Carnatic Carp and the Mahseer.This place is a protected area for the fish, as the anglers are advised to release the fish, after catching them. The wild beauty of the river and the countryside, are sure to hook any tourist.
MANCHINA BELE, MAGADI: This is about 36 km from Bangalore by road and about 8 km from the Big Banyan Tree. Manchinabele Dam is situated in the midst of hills and forests. Even though it is not a big dam, it is a good picnic spot. Route: Proceed from the Big Banyan Tree via Chikkappa Circle. This reservoir and dam is about 15 km from the tree.
SAWAN DURGA: In Kannada Durga means Fort (also Goddess Amba). Savan Durga being one of the nine such forts around Bangalore, is situated at a distance of around 50 kms west of Bangalore near Magadi.This is also the biggest monolith in Asia.There are several routes to the monolith at Sawana Durga, rising to the height of more than 1000ft, At the foothill there is a village by the same name and the forest around has been declared as Reserved forest and there is protected garden of the Herbs of medicinal interest
MEKEDAATU IN KANAKAPURA TALUK:It is about 90 km from Bangalore via Kanakapura. Mekedatu means goat’s leap in Kannada. Mekedatu is a beautiful picnic spot where the rivers Cauvery and Arkavathi after their confluence at the Sangam, squeeze though a narrow gorge. Gushing waters, imposing landscapes, and untouched picnic spots is what Mekedatu is all about. The Cauvery River squeezing through a narrow gorge before traversing its south-bound terrain is a breathtaking sigh.
BANGALORE URBAN DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Bangalore Urban is a district of the Indian state of Karnataka. Bangalore Urban district came into being in 1986, with the partition of the erstwhile Bangalore district into Bangalore Urban and Bangalore Rural districts. Bangalore Urban has three main taluks — Bangalore North, Bangalore South and Anekal. The city of Bangalore is situated in the Bangalore Urban district.
BANGALORE PALACE: Bangalore Palace is located near Mekhri Circle and Cantonment Railway station. The palace was started in 1862 and completed in 1944. It is built to look like a smaller replica of the Windsor Castle in England.
CUBBON PARK: Cubbon Park is a landmark ‘lung’ area of the Bangalore city and spreads over 300 acres. The park was created in the year 1884, by Major General Richard Sankey. It has a rich recorded history of abundant flora and fauna plantations coupled with numerous impressive and aesthetically located buildings and statues of famous personages, in its precincts. The landscaping in the park creatively integrates natural rock outcrops with thickets of trees, massive bamboos, with grassy expanse and flowerbeds and the monuments within its limits, regulated by the Horticulture Department of the Government of Karnataka. The park is also known for its kids train
GAVI GANGADHARESHWARA TEMPLE: Gavi Gangadhareshwara Temple, also known as Gavipuram Cave Temple, an example of Indian rock-cut architecture, is located in Bangalore in the state of Karnataka. The temple was cut out of a rock somewhere around the ninth century. It was later renovated by Kempe Gowda, the founder of Bangalore. Dedicated to Lord Shiva, this temple is situated in the Gavipuram-Guttahalli, about 3 km from the City Market. The architects of Sri Gavi Gangadhareshwara Temple deliberately planned it in such a way that on Makar Sankranti, the sun’s rays always pass through Nandi’s horns, while lighting up the Shiva Lingam. This unique phenomenon can be witnessed only for one hour i.e., between 17.00 hrs and 18.00 hrs on this particular day.
LAL BAGH BOTANICAL GARDEN: Lal Bagh Botanical Garden, translated literally in to English as “The Red Garden”, commissioned by the Hyder Ali in the year 1760. The area of park is 240 acre with about 1000 species of flora. It has a famous glass house which hosts yearly flower show. The garden surrounds one of the towers erected by the founder of Bangalore, Kempe Gowda I. The Lal Bagh Rock, dates back to 3000 million years, is another attraction. It also has an aquarium and a lake, and is one of the tourist attractions in Bangalore.
TIPU SULTAN’S SUMMER PALACE: Tipu Sultan’s Summer Palace is located K.R Market, in heart of Bangalore City. The palace was built in 1791 and is a beautiful two-storied ornate wooden structure with exquisitely carved pillars, arches and balconies. It now houses a museum that contains artifacts relating to the Hyder-Tipu regime.
BELGAUM DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Belgaum (earlier known as “Venugrama” or the “Bamboo Village”) is one of the oldest, strong, prominent and well cultured historical place nestling high in the Western Ghats. The old town area with cotton and silk weavers stands gloriously besides the modern, bustling, tree-lined British Cantonment. Step out of the forts and you have a wide choice of temples and churches to visit. Belgaum has an enviable heritage and offers much to be discovered. It lies in the zone of cultural transition between Karnataka, Maharashtra and Goa with a known antiquity clearly traceable upto 2nd Century A.D. Due to its proximity with the states of Maharashtra and Goa, Belgaum has acquired the cultural flavour of these states and blended it with the local Kannada culture to create a rich heritage, which is unique in its manifestation. It is also known as Malenadu or Rain Country and the vegetation here is verdant green throughout the year. Well, centuries have passed and today it is an entirely different story.
GOKAK FALLS (GOKAK): Gokak Falls is a waterfall known for its beauty. It is at a distance of 60 Kms from Belgaum and 10kms from Gokak town. Located right on the main road is a celebrated tourist centre in the district. This falls has a height of about 170 feet. The river Ghataprapha after winding a course of a long route takes a leap of 52 meters, over a rocky bed 170 feet down. The falls is famous for its spread and shape. The rugged valley and the picturesque is what inspires poetry. The dull roar of the falls can be heard much before you reach it. “Except in width and colour of the water, the general features of the fall, its height, shape and rapidity above are much like those of Niagara”. The falls are horse-shoe shaped at the crest, with a flood breadth of 177 metres. June to September is the best season to visit Gokak as it bees in full bloom. Electricity was generated here for the first time in the country in 1887. This generating station can be reached on the rope way.
YELLAMMA TEMPLE (SAUNDATTI):Saundatti reminds us of the beautiful and ancient temple of Goddesss Renuka (also known as the Yellamma Temple). It is at a distance of 70 Kms from Belgaum and the place can be reached from all the other places by road. At a distance of 5 Kms from the city, there is a big Mountain on which the temple is situated. The mounatain was earlier known as Siddhachal Parvat. The temple is built in the Chalukyan and Rashtrakuta Style and the Carvings reflect the Jain architecture. The temple was constructed by Bomappa Naik of Raybag in the year 1514. There are temples of Lord Ganesh, Mallikarjun, Parshuram, Eknath, Siddeshwar etc in the temple premises. Devotees from Maharastra, Goa and Andhra Pradesh also come here,apart from people from Karnataka, especially during the time of Jatras which are held twice in a year. The management of the temple has been handed over to the Government in 1975 and the government has made provisions such as Dharmashalas, Health Centres and other facilities to make the devotees feel at home.
GODACHINMALKI FALLS (GOKAK) :16 Kms from Gokak, it is at a fine spot located to the west of the Gokak-Konnur road in a deep green valley. Markandeya River takes the first jump from a height of about 25 metres and flows into a rocky valley and after a short distance from here it takes a second jump at a height of about 18 metres.
BELGAUM FORT (BELGAUM) :It is an Ancient Architectural pre-muslim monument where mosques and temples co-exist in perfect harmony, though not much of the orginal structure remains. The fort was built in the 12th century A.D by the local Ratta rulers. It was renovated and built on by successive rulers who ruled Belgaum from time-to-time. At the very entrance, you will find two Shrines; One dedicated to Lord Ganpati and the other to Lordess Durga. Safa masjid is one of the two mosques inside the fort and by far is the best of the 25-30 mosques in the city. The minars, domes and Arches point to a typical fusion of Indo-Sarcenic and Deccan styles of the Architecture.
KAMALA BASTI (BELGAUM) :It is one of the two Bastis within the walls of the fort, built in the late Chalukyan style in 1204 with the Neminatha idol in black stone. The master piece here is the “Mukhamantapa” with a well-executed lotus on the ceiling. Outside the Kamala Basti is another ruined Jain temple.
NAVILUTIRTHA (SAUNDATTI):10 Kms from Saundatti, a low valley situated in between the 2 hills, in an enchanting place is Navilutirtha. Formerly, it was full of Peacocks, frequently flocking round the pond, and thus the place was named Navilutirtha. The Malaprabha Dam near Renukasagar is situated here. It is also a good picnic spot.
RAKASKOP (BELGAUM):16 Kms from Belgaum, literally means a hamlet of a Rakkasa (Giant), who is stated to have lived on a hillrock near the village. A cavern in laterite on the hillrock resembling a huge seated human figure is shown by the people to remind his past existance. Here is a Dam across the river Markandeya, supplying drinking water to Belgaum.
KAPILESHWARA TEMPLE (BELGAUM) :It is said to be one of the oldest temples in Belgaum. It is called as “Dakshina Kashi” and it is believed that the journey of the 12 Jyotirlingas of India is said to be incomplete without a visit to kapileshwara. One should visit this temple during the month of Shravan or on the day of Mahashivratri to enjoy the beauty and feel the religious essence to the fullest extent. The jyotirling here is said to be self-originated and there are temples of Lord Ganesh, Hanuman, Datta, and Saibaba in the temple premises. There is also a Navagraha Mandir situated here.
BELLARY DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Bellary district takes its name from the word Balari which refers to goddess Durugamma as this goddess had manifested herself in the town. Some of the events in the great epic Ramayana are related to this historical place. It is said that Rama while searching for Sita met Sugreeva and Hanuman at a place which is very near to Hampi, the celebrated capital of Vijayanagara kingdom.
BELLARY FORT: Bellary Fort was built round the hill during Vijayanagara times by Hande Hanumappa Nayaka. Hyder Ali, who took possession of the Fort from the Hande Nayaka family in 1769, got the fort renovated and modified with the help of a French engineer. The fort is divided as the Upper Fort and the Lower Fort. The lower fort was added by Hyder Ali around the eastern half of the hill. Legend has it that the unfortunate French engineer was hanged, for overlooking the fact that the neighbouring Kumbara Gudda is taller than Ballari Gudda, thus compromising the secrecy and command of the fort.
HAMPI: Amidst an awesome boulder-strewn landscape along the banks of the Tungabhadra River, Hampi was one of the glittering showpieces of India’s might in the 15th century. There were opulent palaces, marvellous temples, massive fortifications, baths, markets, pavilions and stables for royal elephants. The city’s merchants traded in diamonds, pearls, fine silks, brocades, horses and much more.
KING’S PALACE: The largest enclosure in Hampi, the King’s palace includes two major platform structures, an underground chamber which must have served as a treasury or private audience hall, several minor platforms and double fortification walls, besides other interesting architectural elements.
VIRUPAKSHA TEMPLE: Dedicated to Lord Shiva and his consort Pampadevi, this is the only temple here that is still used for worship. Parts of the temple predate the Vijayanagara Empire. The temple, with its nine storied gopuram, towers above the other structures at Hampi. The ceiling of the Ranga Mantapa is beautifully painted with scenes from the epics and Puranas.
LAKSHMINARASIMHA: The awesome 6.7 meters high monolith depicting the man-lion form of Vishnu is seated on a seven hooded serpent.
BADAVILINGA: Located next to the Lakshminarasimha statue, the Badavilinga is 3 meter high and stands permanently in water that flows through an ancient channel.
VIJAYA VITHALA TEMPLE: The Vijaya Vithala Temple is Hampi’s crowning glory, with a magnificent stone chariot standing temple courtyard. Equally impressive is the large Ranga Mantapa with 56 musical pillars that resound with musical chimes when struck.
ELEPHANT STABLES: An imposing edifice with arched entrances and many domes that once housed the magnificent state elephants.
PUSHKARNI: The stepped water tank, excavated in the mid 1980′s, was originally a part of the palace complex. Almost lyrical in its beauty, the tank is a tiered structure crafted from rectangular pieces of granite.
LOTUS MAHAL: This visually appealing strucutre has two levels, with open pavilions at the bottom and balconies above. Highlighting the fusion of the Hindu and Muslim styles of architecture, the Mahal derives its name from its beautiful, geometrically arranged cusped arches that resemble the petals of the lotus opening to the sun.
HAZARA RAMA TEMPLE: The royal temple reserved for ceremonial use, the Hazara Rama Temple is embellished with bass reliefs depicting scenes from the epic, Ramayana. The walls of the enclosure are richly carved with friezes depicting processions of horses, elephants, dancing girls and soldiers attired in splendid armour. Inside, four exquisitely sculpted granite pillars add to the beauty of the Ardha Mantapa.
MAHANAVAMI DIBBA: Equally impressive is the massive Mahanavami Dibba, where the kings of the Vijayanagara Empire once sat upon their gem studded golden throne and watched processions pass by. The structure is also embellished with densely carved bands of horses, soldier’s ans depictions of various aspects of courtly life.
QUEEN’S BATH: Though the exterior may appear simple, the interior is stunningly ornate, with graceful arched corridors, projecting balconies and lotus shaped fountains that once spouted perfumed water for the ladies of the court.
DAROJI SLOTH BEAR SANCTUARY: There are eight species of Bears in the world. Indian Sloth Bear is confined to India and Sri Lanka only. Its scientific (Zoological) name is Melursus ursimus. It has long, dark unkempt coat of hair with a characteristic v-shaped chevron on its chest. Fore limbs are longer than the hind limbs. The hairless feet are armed with white, blunt, curved claws, which extend up to three inches. Hairless webs unite the pads of the fingertips. Though the head is comparatively large, the Sloth Bears have relatively small ears and eyes. Hence their sense of hearing and vision is poor. But they have outstanding sense of smell.
BOMMAGATTA: This village is situated at a distance of 48 kms from Sandur town.It is famous because of an old temple of Hulikuntaraya (Anjeneyaswamy).
DAROJI TANK: This tank built by Tipu at Daroji village whicj is 48 kms from Sandur town.This tank is said to be one of the biggest tanks in the district.When this tank breached in 1851,the old village of Daroji destroyed under its impact.Susequently a new village was built (new Daroji).
DONIMALAI HILL RANGE: The Donimalai hill range with huge potentiality of iron ore is being exploited by NMDC.This is the first venture of NMDC in the southern region of the country.
RAMANADURGA HILL STATION: From Sandur at a distance of 16 kms the said hill station is situated at a height of 3256 feet from the sea level.The hill station provides excellent views into the Sandur valley on one side and over the western taluks on the other side.There is a fort in this village built by prince Kumara Rama of Kampli which ofcourse now in a ruined state.There is one Ramadeva temple which is rebuilt out the remains of an older temple.
BIDAR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): The name of Bidar appears to be derived from ‘bidiru’ which means bamboo. The place seems to have been known for bamboo clusters in the past, came to be known as ‘Bidaroor’ and then ‘Bidare’, ‘Bidar’. Though there are other versions of origin, the name ‘Bidarooru’ seems to be more near one and authenticated by contemporary literary works.
GURU NANK JHIRA, BIDAR: Gurudwara Bidar is one of Holiest Place for Sikhs. Every Year this place attracts lots of tourists from all parts of the country particularly during the months of November and March. Legend has it that Saint Guru Nanak visited the palce while the land was in the grip of a famine The Guru performed a miracle at the request of the locals and a spring of water from the laterite rock mountain burst out. Till this day crystal clear water flows from the laterite trap.The belief is that drinking of this water cures many ailments.
PAPNASH SHIVA TEMPLE AT BIDAR: As per the local traditional saying, the Shiva Linga idol in this temple is one of those installed by Shri RAM during the time of his journey back from Lanka. The location of the temple in a valley is mesmerising to the eyes. Every year at the time of Shivrathri festival lot of tourists visit this place. A natural spring flows into a pond in front of the temple which is called ‘Papnasha’
NARSHIMHA JHIRA WATER CAVE TEMPLE: At this place the Powerful diety as per the belief here is situated in cave of nealy 300 meters. One has to wade through water upto chest height to have darshan of the diety. It will be thrilling experience with bats and owls sitting on the roof toop of cave but they will not do any harm to the devotees. In the year 1999 with efforts of an young IAS Officer Mr. M Maheswar Rao who was working as Assistant Commissioner and was incharge of this temple comittee got the cave Air conditioned and Electrified.
DEV DEV VANA (BOTANICAL GARDEN): An Eco Tourism center 6 KM away from Bidar town on Bidar – Hyderbad Highway. With more than 200 medicinal plants, this vana is believed to be something of a unconventional temple of plants.
VEERBHADRESHEWAR JATRA’S AT HUMNABAD & CHANGLARE:Two very ancient temples of Lord Veerbhadreshwara in Humnabad Taluk one at Humnabad and one at Changlara village attract lakhs of tourists in the Month of January and November respectively for the yearly Jatra and cart pulling Mohotsav’s. The temple at Humnabad constructed in 1725 is famous for its moving pillar.
MANIK PRABHU TEMPLE AT HUMNABAD: It attracts lots of tourists in the Month of December at the time of Annual Celebrations. On the same ocassion every year a Night long Classical Musical function will be held and till now the likes of Bhimsen Joshi, Zakir hussain and many others have come here for this annual jatra mahotsav.
Chidambara Aashram, Shri Siddharudha Math, (Gumpa) Bidar: Chidambara Aashram, Shri Siddharudha Math, (Gumpa) is built in the year 1986 by Shri Shivkumar Swamiji. There are 12 Jyothirlingas on both the sides Shri Siddharudha statue. This is temple located at Manahalli Road, Bidar. This is also known as Gumpa. During last three decades Shri Siddharudha Math (Gumpa) has became the center of Religious, Educational and Social activities. Shri Shivkumar Swamiji delivers Pravachana in the month of July (Shravana masa), Navarathri, & Every Sunday Evening. Lots of devoties has the spiritual thrust in them. A visitor/devotees who visits holy places in bidar, if any devotee not visit this temple his yatra becomes incomplete. Every year lots of devotees from all parts of the India visits to celebrate Sadguru Siddharudha & Shivakumar Mahaswamiji Jayanti. This is celebrated particularly in the month of November.
BIJAPUR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): The foundations of this historic city were laid during the reign of the Chalukyan dynasty of Kalyani between the tenth and eleventh centuries. They called it Vijayapura or the City of Victory; from which comes its present name Bijapur.
Bijapur experienced a great burst of architectural activity under the Adil Shahi dynasty. The Adil Shahis encouraged building activity to such an extent that Bijapur itself has over 50 mosques, more than 20 tombs and a number of palaces. Bijapur is mainly famous for Gol-Gumbaz, Jumma Masjid,Bara Kamaan,Gajanan Temple,
GOL GUMBAZ: Built in 1659, is the mausoleum of Mohammed Adil Shah and some members of his family. Its vast dome is said to be the Second Largest Dome, unsupported by pillars, in the world, after St. Peter’s in the Vatican City of Rome.It is constructed in such a way that even a pin drop can be heard distinctly from across a space of 38 m, in the Whispering Gallery. The acoustics here are such that any sound made is said to be repeated 10 times over. In the surrounding ornamental gardens is an archeological museum.
BASANTA VANA: This 85 feet cement and steel idol at Rambapur village 3Kms from City of Bijapur on the Ukkali road was unveiled on Feb 26th 2006 — the auspicious day of Shivarathri.A small idol of Shivalinga is installed beneath the big statue. “Shiva Charite” will also be inscribed in Kannada on the inner walls of the temple to help the devotees learn the mythological stories related to Lord Shiva.
Jamai Masjid: Jamai Masjid is considered one of the finest mosque in India, is a finely proportioned mosque that was constructed by Ali Adil Shah I (1557-80). It sprawls over an area of about 1,16,300sq.m and has graceful arches, a fine dome and a large inner courtyard with room for 2250 worshippers, spaces for them marked out in black squares on the polished floor. The Mosque’s sacred alcove has the Koran intricately painted on it with letters of gold.
MALIK E-MAIDAN The Monarch of the Plains) the largest medieval cannon in the world. Being 4 m long, 1,5 m in diameter and weighing 55 tons, this gun was brought back from Ahmadnagar in the 17th century as a trophy of war by 400 oxen, 10 elephants and tens of men.
KUDALA SANGAMA: Kudala Sangama is an important center of pilgrimage for people of the Lingayat faith. It is located about 15 km from the Almatti Dam in Bagalkot district of Karnataka state. The Krishna river and Ghataprabha river merge here and flow east towards Srisaila (another pilgrim center) in state of Andhra Pradesh. The Aikya Mantapa or the holy Samadhi of Basavanna, the founder of the Lingayat faith along with Linga, which is believed to be self-born (Swayambhu), is situated here.
ALMATTI DAM: The Almatti Dam is a Dam project on the Krishna River in North Karnataka, India. The annual energy design is 713 million units. It was completed in July 2005. Almatti dam is the main reservoir of the Upper Krishna project, an irrigation project. The 290 MW power project is located on the right toe of Almatti Dam. The Power House has 5 units of 55 MW each and 1 unit of 15 MW. The turbines are vertical Kaplan. The annual design energy is 713 Million Units.
BARA KAMAN: Bara Kaman is the unfinished mausoleum of Ali Adil Shah II in Bijapur, Karnataka in India. Ali Adil Shah of the Adil Shahi dynasty wanted to build a mausoleum of unmatched quality of architecture. As per the plan twelve arches will be placed vertically as well as horizontally surrounding the tomb of Ali Adil Shah. However due to unknown reason the work on the structure was left incomplete and only two arches were raised vertically. However still, the remains of the twelve arches placed horizontally can be seen.
GAJANAN TEMPLE: This mansion was constructed by Ali Adil Shah I in 1561. It served as a royal palace for some time.There is three magnificent arches, the central one being the widest. The ground floor was the Durbar Hall and the first floor, now in ruins, was the private residence of the Royal family.
IBRAHIM ROUZA:The Ibrahim-Rauza, built by Ibrahim ‘Adil Shah II (1580-1627), consists of his tomb and mosque within a square compound, both rising face to face from a common raised terrace, with a tank and fountain between them. The mosque has a rectangular prayer-chamber, with a facade of five arches, shaded by the chhajja and a slender minaret at each corner. Enclosed within a square fenestration rises the bulbous dome with a row of tall petals at its base. The square tomb with double aisles around it, the inner one pillared, has similar features but is finer in proportions. Two narrow arches, next to the ones at each end, break up its facade. On the interior, each wall has three arches, all panelled and embellished with floral, arabesque or inscriptional traceries. The tomb-chamber has a low curved ceiling made of joggled masonry, with empty space between it and the dome.
UPPALI BURZ: Built around 1584 by Hyder Khan, is an 80 ft (25 m) high tower standing to the north of Dakhani Idgah in Bijapur. This is a spherical structure with stone steps winding round the outside.
SANGEETA MAHAL: located in Toravi, the ruins of a palace thought to be the royal court for music and dance; also the venue for the annual classical music concert – Navaraspur Music Festival (Jan-Feb)
TAJ BAWADI:This great tank was built to commemorate Ibrahim II ‘s first wife Taj Sultana.Its front is a majestic arch flanked by 2 octagonal towers, the east & west wings of the towers form spacious rest houses.
HAZARAT KHAJA AMEENODEEN ALI ALA SHERE KHUDA CHISHTI:The kingdoms of the Bahamanis (1348-1527 C.E.) and the Adilshahis (1489-1686 C.E.) in the north of Karnataka and the interregnum of Hyder Ali and Tippu Sultan(1761-1799 C.E.) in Mysore were the main Islamic kingdoms in Karnataka.Bijapur thrived alongside the Mughal glory in the north. Masjids (mosques) big and small appeared in the newly conquered territories as if to match those built by the aesthete Mughals.
ASAR MAHAL: Asar Mahal also known as Asar-E-Sharif was constructed by Mohammad Adil Shah in 1646. It was built to serve as a ‘hall of justice’Three tanks grace the Mahal. The central square tank, 15 feet in depth is fed by conduits from Begum tank. Two smaller and less deeper tanks are on either sides of the central large one.It is believed to contain relics of Prophet Muhammad. Two strands of Prophet Muhammad’s hair is also housed here.
MEHTAR MAHAL: Mehtar Mahal, which literally mean a ‘Sweeper’s Palace’, is situated just a kilometer from Bijapur, in Karnataka. This ornamental gateway leading to a mosque and a garden is a fine example of the Indo-Saracenic style of architecture. It was built by a sweeper Ibrahim Adil Shah. Mehtar Mahal is embellished with a profusion of carvings in the form of stone brackets supporting the balconies and stone trellis work in Hindu style. The stone brackets are exquisitely garnished with carved birds and rows of swans.
JOD GUMBAD: Jod Gumbad’s twin domed tombs were built in memory of Khan Muhammad and Abdul Razzaq Qadiri. The two were considered traitors as the general and the spiritual advisor helped the Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb defeat the young Adil Shahi ruler Sikandar. The structure was built in 1687 and is also known as Abdul Razzaq Dargah. The Dargah offers a spoon of holy water to all visitors. The reason why tombs for traitors was built and considered holy is unknown. The structure has beautiful bulbous domes and the garden in which these tombs are sited is a popular picnic spot.
CHAMRAJNAGAR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): This District was one of the seven new districts formed on that day. Those seven districts are Chamarajanagar, Udupi, Davanagere, Haveri, Koppal, Gadag, Bagalkote. These seven new Districts was the result of reports by Vasudev Rao Samithi, Hundikar Samithi, Gaddhigowdar Samithi, Zilla Horata Samithi etc.
Kanakagiri hill: Kanakagiri, situated near Maleyur in the district of Chamarajanagar, Karnataka State, was well known for its sandalwood and rich forestry around it. The Kanakagiri hill has been described by ancient historians and writers as Nakopama Shaila, meaning a hill in the form of a Heaven. Since ancient times Srikshretra kanakagiri was one of popular Jain centers of the world. One can find a mention of Kanakagiri in the ancient Jain works. The inscriptions, engraving of footprints, Samadhi mantapas and Nishadi caves and other monuments throw much light on the inherent and rich heritage of the place.
Survarnavathi Reservoir: Survarnavathi Reservoir is 16 kms from Chamarajanagar. Storage capacity of the dam is 1258.76 mft. And the length and width of overflow of dam is 160 ft. and 18 ft. respectively. The Scenic beauty of a dam is breathtaking and is a spot worth visiting. Wild elephants can be seen moving about freely during the months of May and June.
Bara Chukki: To the South – East on a deviation road 3 km. from Dargah is the Bara Chukki located in Kollegala Taluk. Here the eastern stream of the Cauvery flows rather hurriedly falling into a rocky valley forming three cascades with a thunderous sound. The surrounding of the water fall is in beautiful settings.
Shivanasamudra: To the left of the entrance to the island of Shivanasamudra is a locality having a big Dargah ascribed to Peer Hazarath Sayyaduna Hazarath Murdana Gayib. It is located almost at the edge of a small hillock having a deep rocky valley behind. There is also a mosque here.
Wild life sanctuary and hill station: A unique blend of a wild life sanctuary and hill station, the B.R. Hills is heaven for a variety of wild animals and birds, making it a must for those who love the jungle its pristine glory. Here, one is welcome to unwind and enjoy its gifts unfettered by Civilization. One can offer an experience of a life time where, the tourists you can only expect the unexpected, the untamed and the unexplored
CHIKBALLAPUR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Chikballapur is about 57 km north of Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore), India. The north-south National Highway NH-7 goes through the town, functions as the Main Street of the town, and is locally known as Bengaluru-Bellary Road or BB Road.According to the 2001 Census, the population of the town was approximately 55,000. In 2007 January, it was estimated that the population of the Greater Chikballapur Area (GCA) was approximately 100,000. The town provides all central place functions to be expected of a town of that size in a developing country.
CHINTAMANI: This town is named after its founder Chintamani Rao, a maratha chieftain. It is famous for its gold and silver trade and its agarbathi (incense) industry. One of the oldest dargahs in Karnataka, the Murugmulla Dargah of Fakhi Shah Wali about 8 Kms. from Chintamani, draws thousands of pilgrims, particularly during the annual urs.
GUMMANAYAKA FORT: This fort is situated 16 Kms. east of Bagepalli, was founded around 1350 by a feudatory chieftain Gummanayaka and ruled for several years by him and his successors. It is noted for its fortified circular rock that rises 150 ft above the surrounding hilly tract.
NANDI HILLS: Situated 60 Kms north of Bangalore and 1478 metres above sea level, Nandi Hills, earlier known as Nandidurga, was the summer retreat of Tipu Sultan. He and his father Haider Ali expanded the existing fort, built by local feudatory chieftains, into twin forts. Attracted by the salubrious climate of this area, the British built spacious bungalows and laid beautiful gardens. They succeeded in converting Nandi Hills into a charming hill station. Tippu’s Drop is a 60 metre cliff, offering breathtaking views. Adventure sports lovers can try their hand at parasailing. Nearby is the Yoga Nandeeshwara temple on the hill.
RANGASTHALA: On the way from Chikkaballapur to Gouribidanur, this village has a beautiful temple of Lord Ranganatha (Vishnu) in the Vijayanagar style.
MUDDENAHALLI: Muddenhalli, birthplace of Sir M. Visweswaraya, Visionary engineer and statesman and architect of Karnataka’s progress. Visit his home, now converted into a museum. The village of Nandi, houses the Bhoga Nandeeshwara temple. It is really a confluence of two temples and one of the finest examples of Dravidian temple architecture.
KAIVARA: This town is associated with the epic, Mahabharatha. Known as Ekchakrapura, this is where the Pandavas lived in exile, incognito. Bhima, one of the Pandava brothers is said to have killed the asura (demon) Bakasura, who was tormenting the people. Myth has it that a nearby cave in the hill, contains the corpse of the demon, which supposedly drips blood during Shivaratri. There is a garden complex in Kaivara, containing gardens and musical fountains. Also, in the garden are five cottages named after the pandavas and a mini zoo with herbarium. The temples of Amaranarayana and Bhimeshwara as well as the Yogi Narayana ashram are worth a visit.
TIPPUDROP: A steep deep in the south west of Nandi hill is named as Tippu drop. During Tippu’s regime Prisoners punished to death were pushed from this point.
JAKKALAMADAGU DAM: Jakkalamadagu is the main source of drinking water for Chikballapur Town.
NEHARU GUEST HOUSE: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru visited Nandi hills. A Guest house has been constructed in his memory, which is maintained by the department of Horticulture. Nehru Nilaya was the venue for SAARC summit.
BHOGANANDEESHWARA TEMPLE: Boganandiswara temple in Nandi village constructed around 806 A.D. by Rathnavalli of Bana Dynasty is in Drawidan style. Temple is known for its anciental Architecture. Sri. Arunachaleswara temple, nearby Boganandiswara temple built out soap stone, is another example where one can find fine Ganga, Chola, Hoysala style of architecture
SRINIVASA SAGARA KERE: It is a beautiful lake, near chikballapur.
VISWESHARAIAH TOMB: Tomb of Sir M.Visweswaraiah at Muddenahalli, Chikballapur.
YOGANANDISHWARA TEMPLE: Yoganandishwara temple on Nandhi Hill was constructed in Drawidan & Chola style of Architecture. The Idols of Dwarapalakas are said to be donated by Sri.Krishnadevaraya. An inscription at the outer wall of the temple narrates that Sambaji S/o. Chatrapathi Shivaji captured the hill from the Mughal Rulers. Veerabhadra temple constructed by Devaraya around 1397 A.D. is an other worth seeing historical sight.
SURASADMAGIRI HILL-GUDIBANDA; Surasadmagiri hill is located to the north west of Gudibanda Town. Byregowda a palyagara who ruled over the constructed a fort on the hill is a historical sight.
CHICKMAGALUR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Chickmagalur district was called Kadur district till 1947. It is situated roughly in the south-western part of Karnataka state. A large area of this district is ‘malnad’, i.e., a largely forested hilly region of heavy rainfall. The district takes its name from the headquarters town of Chickmagalur which literally means younger daughter’s town – Chikka+Magala+Ooru-(in Kannada). It is said to have been given as a dowry to the younger daughter of Rukmangada, the legendary chief of Sakrepatna. Another part of the town bestowed on the elder daughter is known as Hiremagalur. But some old inscriptions reveal that these two places were known as Kiriya-muguli and Piriya-muguli. Situated in a fertile valley south of the Baba-Budan hill range is the headquarters town of the district.
MANIKYA DHARA: At a short distance from Guru Dattatreya Bababudanswaamy’s Darga are the three famous waterfalls with epic associations – Gada Theertha, Kamana Theertha, and Nellikayi Theertha. Gada theertha according to a myth was created by the Pandava prince Bheema with his ‘gada’, to quench the thirst of his mother during their exile. Pilgrims who bathe in the Nellikayi Theertha formed by Manikya Dhara Waterfall,
BABA BUDDAN GIRI: The Baba-Budan range has taken its name from the 1895 meters high Baba-Budan Giri, situated just 28 kms north of Chikmagalur town. A beacon lighted here during Deepavali can be seen at Chikmagalur. The peak takes its name from the Muslim saint, Baba-Budan, who took up residence here for more than 150 years ago and brought the coffee seeds for the first time from Yemen.
SRINGERI: 90 kms west of Chickmagalur town on the banks of river Tunga, is a city with epic associations. The place is said to have been named after Rishyashringa who figures in the Ramayana as the chief priest at the great sacrifice of King Dasharadha. Widely known for the Jagadguru Shankaracharya Mata of the Adwaitha school of philosophy. Sringeri also has an ancient temple of Vidyashankara. Constructed on a picturesque spot parallel to the river Tunga, the temple is a fine example of artistic transition from Hoysala to Vijayanagara style.
MULLAIN GIRI: To the north of Chikmagalur town is the Baba-Budan Range or Chandra Drona Parvatha as it was known in olden times, which has one of the highest mountain peaks between the Himalayas and the Nilgiris. The loftiest point of the range is Mullaiyanagiri which is 1,926 meters above sea level. The three large caves here said to have been sanctified by 3 siddhas contain their icons and ‘gaddiges’ (tombs) . The enthralling scenery around makes this a much frequented pilgrim center.
SEETHAL GIRI: One will reach the Seethal Giri on the way to Mullain Giri, which is the highest peak. Seethala Mallappana Kanive to the left side is said to have been hallowed by Sidha Seethalaya and contains a Matha and the dual shrine temple of Seethala-Mallikarjuna.
KEMMANNUGUNDI: 55 kms north from Chickmagalur town on the Baba Budan range is the scenic hill station of Kemmannugundi called K.R hills, after the Wodeyar king Krishnaraja Wodeyar – IV who made it his favorite summer camp. Situated at a height of 1434 meters and surrounded by thick green forests. K.R Hills makes and ideal health resort. Beautifully laid out ornamental gardens, salubrious climate throughout the year and the panoramic view of mountains and valleys are just a few of the attractions. Kemmengundi Rajbhavan is also seen in the photo. Horticultural Department is maintaining the beautiful gardens here in the top of the hill station.
KALLATHAGIRI WATER FALLS: This water fall is very near to the Kemmengundi hill resort where the water cascades down from a height of 122 meters amidst fascinating scenery. A legend associates this place with sage Agastya and the local temple in a gap between rocks, is attributed to the Vijayanagara times.
AMRITHAPURA: 67 kms north of Chickmagalur, Amrithapura is known for the splendid Amrithapura temple built in 1196 A.D by Amriteshwara Dandanayaka, a general of the Hoysala ruler Ballala II. Delicacy of touch, originality of design and fine features has made this temple one of the notable structures of the Hoysala period. 20 kms. To the west of Tarikere town is Somapura, another of the pancha-kshetras on the banks of river Bhadra.
BALEHONNUR: 45 kms.To the north-west of the Chickmagalur town is another celebrated pontifical seat of the district. Shrimad Jagadguru Rambhapuri Veerasimhasana Mahasamstana Peeta. This Veerashaiva matta with mythical connections to Ramba, celestial dancer, as also to the giant Rambasura, is one of the five great panchacharya mathas. The Veerabadra temple attached to the matha has sturdy metallic images of Veerabhadra and Bhadrakali
BELAVADI: 25 kms south – east of Chickmagalur town and just 10 kms from the Hoysala capital of Halebeedu is Belavadi, another place in the district with historical associations. This ancient village is dotted with temples and shrines, the most outstanding of them being veeranarayana temple – a fine specimen of Hoysala architecture.
MARLE: 12 kms from Chickmagalur town, Marle is another place of antiquity noted for its temples, chief amongst them being the Chennakeshava temple dating back to 1150 A.D.
HORANADU: Set amidst enchanting natural scenery, Horanadu is 100 kms south-west of Chickmagalur and has an ancient temple of Annapoorneshwari which has been renovated recently. With the installation of the new image of Adi Shakthi, now the temple is called Adi-Shaktyatmaka Shri Annapoorneshwari. The place attracts lots of pilgrims who are provided free boarding and lodging by the temple.
KALASA:The old Agrahara settlement, 92 kms south – west of Chickmagalur and situated on the banks of the river Bhadra, is surrounded by lofty hills of the Western Ghats and is looked upon as one of the pancha-kshetras on the banks of the Bhadra.
Close by are the pancha theerthas, the five sacred ponds. On a small hillock here is the Kalaseshwara temple dedicated to Ishwara, with a Kshetrapala shrine of soap stone nearby. The Madhawacharya Bande, a large boulder at one of the theerthas here, is supposed to have been placed by Shri Madhawacharya the founder of the Dwaitha School of philosophy. A statue of this Acharya is carved on the upper portion of the rock.
AYYANAKERE: 18 kms north-east of Chikmagalur town, this ancient tank is believed to have been constructed by Rukmangada Raya a chief of Sakrepatna. Rennovated later in 1156 A.D. during the Hoysala times, This large tank situated at the eastern base of the Baba-Budan range provides irrigation facilities to about 1,560 hectares of land. On a hillock here is the Prasanna Balleshvara shrine with Hoysala sculptures of Ganapathi, Surya, Krishna, Ambika, etc.
BHADRA WILDLIFE SANTUARY: The district with dense tropical evergreen forests interspersed with lush grassy slopes is endowed with a rich and varied fauna, abundantly seen at the Bhadra Wildlife Sanctuary, 38 kms north – west of Chickmagalur town. The sanctuary surrounded by hills has the tributaries of the Bhadra River flowing through it. The western border of the sanctuary abuts the back waters of the Bhadra Reservoir which has a catchment area of 1,968 kms. Surrounded by scenic hills and steep slopes. A diverse and exciting range in wild life is found here – bison, elephants, tiger, panther, sambar, spotted deer, wild beer, porcupine, birds like the peacock, parrot, partridge, pigeon, etc. and reptiles such as cobra, python etc. All these wild beasts can be viewed while driving along the 150 km long roads maintained inside the sanctuary.
ANGADI (MUDIGERE): Angadi which means a market place or shop is 18 km south of Mudigere Town. This place has been identified as Sasakapura or Sosevur which was the original home of Hoyasalas who rose to great power in South India. The shrine here has pillars of granite with cylindrical shafts and hemi spherical mouldings. Three other ruined temples were dedicated to Keshava, Veerabhadra, and Mallikarjuna.
CHITRADURGA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): CHITRADURGA Located at a distance of 202 kms Northwest of Bangalore, in the heart of the Deccan Plateau, Chitradurga is recognized as the land of valour and chivalry. The district headquarters town, Chitradurga owes its name to “Chitrakaladurga,” or “Picturesque castle”. This is a massive fortress on top of granite hills that rises dramatically from the ground. Archaeological remains found in the area, trace its history to the 3nd millennium B.C.
CHITRADURGA FORT: The old walled Town houses the impressive fort, built on the north eastern base of a cluster of rocky hills, qualifying it to be a Giridurga, or hill fortress. Known as Yelu Suthina Kote, the fort is fortified by seven circular walls, three of which are on the ground and four on the hill. Chitradurga fort is said to have had 19 majestic doors, 38 smaller doors, 35 special entry points and four secret entrances. The fort is entered through four gateways of the outermost wall. The foothills of the fort constitute the main residential area of the town. The Mel Durgas, forts on the hill are embellished with extensive fortifications, ramparts, bastions, batteries, watchtowers and entrances located at strategic points and house fourteen temples.
CHANDRAVALLI:- Suituated at the north easterly axis of the Chitradurga hill, the Chandravalli is an ancient archaeological site. Digs revealing bricks, painted pottery and coins are traced to the Satavahana period as well as well as prehistoric times. The Basavanagondi region has the Byraveshwara Temple
ANKALI MUTT:- Nestling amongst a group of rugged hills, west of Chitradurga, this mutt is known for its subterranean chambers. Near the Panchalinga cave (Wonder cave) entrance, is an inscription dated 1286 A.D. executed in the reign of the Hoysala King Narasimha III.
BRUHANMUTT:- Located about three kms from Chitradurga this mutt, also known as Sri. Murugarajendra Matt was built in honour of an eminent guru of the Veershaiva Community. The main object of worship is the Gudduge (tomb) of lmmadi Muruga Swamy.
AADUMALLESHWARA:- Located 5 kms. from Chitradurga, is a Shiva Cave temple built by Aadooru Mallapa. An interesting feature is a perennial stream that flows through the Nandi’s (buills) mouth.
INGALADALU:- Two kms from Chitradurga, this village is known for its copper mines. It is believed, that ancient times gold and silver mines were here
THAMATEKALLU:- Located 8 kms from Chitradurga, this place has the oldest hero stone in Karnataka. Ancient rock cut inscriptions are also found her.
JOGIMATTI:- Ten kms. South of Chitradurga is this hill resort, situated at a height of 3803 ft. (The highest point in the district). The place is named after a yogi, who was well known for his social service. Himavatkedra, a waterfall that flows through the rocks, has created a natural cave that has a Shiva Linga and idols of Veerabhadra and Basavanna.
SIRIGERE:- Located northwest of Chitradurga, Sirigere is well known for the Veershaiva Mutt of Taralabalu Jagadguru. The monastery is noted for the educational and religious centers run by them.
NEERTHADI: – Thirty eight kms. From Chitradurga, this village has the famous Ranganathaswamy Temple in the Vijayanagar style
CHANDRAVALLI CAVES: Chandravalli Caves are situated at Chitradurga district in Karnataka. It is situated near a big lake. This is a popular tourist site as it is of great historic importance. On excavation painted pottery, coins are traced of the Satavahana period. Ankali Matt is situated beside the caves which has big shiva lingas under a giant stone. The nearest railhead is Chitradurg Railway Station.
DAKSHINA KANNADA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Located 347 Kms. from Bangalore on the coast, Mangalore, the district head quarters of Dakshina Kannada, has been a trading centre for several centuries. It was, since the early period of the Christian era till the end of the 14th century, the capital of the Alup Rulers. From the 14th to the 16th centuries the area came under the governance of the Vijayanagar dynasty. But the strongest influence was that of the Portuguese, who arrived on the coast in the 15th century. They opened a factory for trade and brought with them the Roman Catholic religion too. Conquered by Haider Ali in 1763, Mangalore became the chief port of Mysore. When Tipu Sultan’s Fort fell in 1799 to the British, they made it the district head quarters of Kanara. With an important port, this once coastal town, has become a bustling commercial centre. Yet it preserves its old world charm, with its narrow winding streets, fringed with coconut palms, quaint houses with terracotta tiled roofs, temples and churches.
St. Aloysius Church: Situated just 1 Kms from the heart of the city. The walls and ceilings of the church are covered by paintings of Antonio Moscheni of Italy. The church was built in the year1899-1900.
ULLAL DARGA: The Darga of Sayed Mohammed Shereful Madani, who is said to have come to Ullal from Madina 400 years ago is a famous darga in this region. Thousands of people from various states visit the mosque to participate in the Urus festival which is celebrated once in every 5 years.
1000 Pillar Shrine: Located in Moodabidri, 35 Kms North East of Mangalore, the Holy shrine of the Jains, Thousand Pillar Basadi is dedicated to Shri Chandranath, a Jain saint. The temple is intricately carved and has Nepalese style of architecture. The 1000 pillar temple is around 560 years old and was build over century. The history of the temple is carved on the walls and pillars of the Temple. No two pillars in the temple are alike. The Basadi is treasure house of art and architecture. No where in Karnataka a Basadi of so much grandeur and so much magnificence as this could be found.
VENOOR – GOMMATESHWARA: Venoor is 19 Kms from Belthangady and about 54 Kms from Mangalore. The chief objects of interest here are the colossal Monolithic statue of Gommata of 38ft in height and a few basadis. This staute sculpted by Janakacharya was set up in 1604 AD by Veera Thimanna Ajila IV.
SULTAN BATHERI:It is situated in Boloor, 6 Kms away from Mangalore city bus stand. it was built in Black stones by Tippu sulthan to prevent warships to enter Gurupur river. The construction is bafflingly exquisite. Although it is a watchtower, it gives the impression of a miniature fortress with its arrangements for mounting cannons all round.
JAMALABAD FORT: 65 kms. From Mangalore, 8 Kms from Belthangadi, the Jamalabad Fort was built in 1794 by Tipu Sultan, the Tiger of Mysore, in memory of his mother Jamalabee. A good place for trekkers.
KADRI HILL PARK: Situated 4 Kms away from Hampankatta to the East which is adjacent to NH-17. It is the highest and the largest garden in Mangalore. It comes under the Govt. Horticulture Department. The park is mainly meant for children. Children Train and other facilities are present in the park.
PILIKULA NISARGADHAMA: Located at Mudushedde, just 10 Kms from Mangalore, Pilikula Nisargadhama is an integrated nature park that will offer a delightful variety of attractions to the eco-tourist and nature lovers. Spread over 300 acres of land the park has a lake with boating facilities, a wild life safari, a mini aquarium and science center.
SUMMER SANDS BEACH RESORT: Summer Sands Beach Resort situated at Ullal Beach is around 15 Kms away from Mangalore to the South. Set in 14 acres of casuarina groves, has well furnished cottages and makes a pleasant getaway from the city. Restaurant servers’ good seafood to satiate one’s appetite.
SURATHKAL BEACH: This picturesque beach is known for its clean surrounding and it’s light house. This beach is few minutes away from National Institute of Technology, Karnataka.
TANNIRBAVI BEACH: This is one of the best beaches of Dakshina Kannada. One can enjoy the sunset view here. It is about 12 Kms away from Mangalore.
PANAMBUR BEACH: 10 kms from mangalore, to the left of the harbour and about 1km fro nh.17 a good place for a short picnic.
SOMESHWAR BEACH:9 Kms to the south of Mangalore, and 1/2 Km from the Someshwara Bus stand, this beach is well known for the large rocks called “Rudra Shile”. The historical Somanath Temple constructed during the regime of the famous queen Abbakka Devi is situated in the north side.
MANGALA DEVI TEMPLE, MANGALORE:Mangalore has the ancient 10th century Mangala Devi temple that has given the town its name. Situated Just 2 Kms from the heart of the city.
KADRI MANJUNATHA TEMPLE, MANGALORE: The Kadri Hill is famous for the 11th century Kadri Manjunatha Temple, with the surrounding tanks with natural springs and laterite caves, also knows as the Pandava Caves. The bronze image of Lokeshawara and Guatama Buddha in the Dhyani posture point to its Buddhist origins. The Kadri Kambala (Buffalo race) takes place here in December. Situated Just 2 Kms from the heart of the city.
KUDROLI GOKARNATHESHWARA TEMPLE, MANGALORE: Kudroli Gokarnatheshwara Temple is set by Shri Narayana Guru, the great Philosopher, Saint and social reformer from Kerala. The temple is built in the Chola Gopuram Style. The main deity of this temple is Shiva.Situated Just 1 Kms from the heart of the city.
DHARMASTHALA MANJUNATHA TEMPLE: Seventy five Kms. East of Mangalore, set in sylvan surroundings on the lower slopes of the Western Ghats, this well known pilgrimage center is an interesting amalgam of faiths. The Manjunatha Temple is a prominent Shaivaite Center that has Madhwa Vaishnavaite priests and is administered by a hereditary Jain family, the Heggades. The Jain influence can be seen in the 39 ft. statue of Bahubali, erected in 1980 on the hill near the temple. Opposite the temple is the Manjusha Museum which houses a wide rage of objects, including ancient scripts on palm leaves, silver jewellery and religious statuary. Charity is a way of life here and pilgrims that throng the temple are given free food and lodging for three days. During the annual festival, Laksha Deepotsava held in November-December, one lakh lamps are lit and literary and religious discourses held.
KUKKE SUBRAHMANYA TEMPLE: Nestled between hills, this pilgrim center, 104 Kms. from Mangalore is famous for the temple of Kukke Sri Subrahmanya. The epics narrate how the divine serpent Vasuki and other snakes took refuge under God Subrahmanya, in the caves. Here God Subrahmanya is worshipped as a snake, which is the god’s divine power. A ritual dance called Nagamandala is performed during the worship, where the dancer wears the attire of Ardhanarishwara (half man, half woman), symbolising the concept of female(prakruthi) and male(purusha) forces being one.
KATEEL DURGA PARAMESHWARI TEMPLE: Twenty Kms East of Mangalore is the Durga Parameshwari Temple, located on an island in Nandini River. The chief deity is in the form of an udhbhava moorthi (naturally formed). The pillars of the temple bear beautiful sculptures.
SOUTHADKA SRI GANAPATHY TEMPLE: Southadka is a pilgrimage centre located at a distance of 3 km from Kokkada in Belthangadi Taluk of Dakshina Kannda district. The uniqueness of the place is Lord Maha Ganapathi is out in the open field without a ‘Garbha gudi’ and temple structure. It is surrounded by fascinating greeneries and open round the clock for offering prayers.
SRI DURGA PARAMESHWARI TEMPLE, BAPPANADU, MULKI: Placed at 29 KMs away from north of Mangalore and 29 KMs away from south of Udupi near NH 17. Placed at south coast of Shambhavi river.The main deity of this temple is Goddess Shree Durgaparameshwari. Bappanadu Dolu (musical drum) is well known and beating of the drums during annual festival of the temple is an important part of celebration
SRI RAJARAJESWARI TEMPLE, POLALI, BANTVAL TALUK: Placed at 20 Kms away from bantval city and 20 KMs away from Mangalore city and 10 Kms away from Mangalore Airport(Bajpe Airport).
SRI MAHALINGESWARA TEMPLE, PUTTUR: Placed at main city of Puttur near police station. It is one of the well known temples of Dakshina Kannda.
SRI KARINJESHWARA TEMPLE, KARINJE, BANTVAL TALUK: Situated at a place called Karinja of Kavalamudur village of Bantval taluk. 38 Kms away from Mangalore and 14 Kms away from Bantval. Could be reached from (2 KMS) a place called VAGGA on Mangalore-Belthangady route.The Karinjeshwara is a Shiva-Parvati temple stands high on the hill amidst beautiful surroundings
SRI SAHASRALINGESHWARA TEMPLE, UPPINANGADY: Uppinagady is at a distance of 55 KMs away from Mangalore. The temple is known as dakshina kashi and located at the confluence of two rivers NETHRAVATHI and KUMARADHARA.
ANANTHA PADMANABHA TEMPLE KUDUPU: Located at 10 KMs away from Mangalore city in Mangalore-Karkala highway. This temple is dedicated to Lord Anantha Padmanabha (Lord Vishnu) and famous for serpent worship. Annual festival ‘Shashti’ is a famous religious ceremony and ‘Nagarapanchami’ is celebrated with great devotion here.
NARAHARI PARVATHA SADASHIVA TEMPLE, BANTVAL TALUK: Loacted at 28 Kms away from Mangalore city. Placed near Pane-mangalore city of Mangalore Taluk. This is one of the oldest temples and it is located on the top of the hill. The temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva. One has to climb the hill to reach this temple. There are ponds atop of the hill and deveotees take a holy dip in these ponds.
DAVANAGERE DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Davanagere is known for its higher educational institutes, most of which are run by the Bapuji Educational Association & other institutions. Davanagere has two Dental colleges, three engineering colleges, two medical colleges, one ayurvedic medical college, a fashion design college and a number of other colleges offering courses in arts, commerce and science. The student population is made up of people from different cities and states in India. There are a few foreign students studying at Davanagere. Davanagere has a big shopping mall well famed all over Karnataka i.e B.S.Channa Basappa and Sons.
MARUDAMALAI TEMPLE :Marudamalai Temple located about 12kms from Davangere railway station, this well-known temple, situated on the Marudamalai mountain, is dedicated to Lord Muruga.
FOREST COLLEGE MUSEUM: one of the oldest of its kind in the country, the Forest College is situated 3.5 km north of the Davangere railway station. The museum preserves plant and animal fossils.
HADALI :Hadali is about 12kms from Davangere here we find Inscriptions dating back to the 11th century are found here, along with an ancient temple of Ittigekallu Ranganatha. The sculpture found in the former fort area indicate the possibilities of ancient monuments here.
BAATHI GUDDA :Baathi Gudda is a barren hillock near Baathi village looks like mini Lalbagh. There are about 95 thousand saplings planted here.There are a large varieties of flowering plants which help botany students.
SULEKERE: Sulekere in Davangere district is home to Asia’s second largest tank.It is spread across 4,416 acres located in a hilly region. It is a sight to the eyes.Water from the surrounding villages flows into Sulekere
KUNDUVADA KERE (“KERE” MEANS “LAKE”): in Davangere district of Karnataka is a very beautiful picturesque lake, which offers good view of sunset and is a popular picnic spot. The lake is one of the sources of drinking water for the city. The lake spreads nearly 253 acres and was recently renovated and treated as Summer Water Storage Tank. This is one of the best places to spend an evening by the water. Most of the people come here on weekends to enjoy and relax amidst the silence it offers.
SOLEKERE/SHANTHI SAGAR:Solekere is the biggest lake in Karnataka in Davanagere district and one of the biggest lakes in India. The lake has a diameter about 45 kms, surrounded by green mountains, siddeshwara temple is situated at hill top, bhadra canal is flowing at one side of the lake, and has a link with a lake.
DHARWAD DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): The district of Dharwad has had a glorious cultural past even from Paleolithic times, examples of which are found in plenty in the region. The district nurtured a variety of ruling dynastics and their administrations from the hoary past. There were the Chalukyas of Badami,Raashtrakuutas, Hoysalas, Shaatavaahanas, Kadambas, Moghulas, the Vijayanagar dynasties, the Nabobshahi of Savanur, the Peshwas of Pune and the British officers of the erstwhile British India. During the times of Freedom Struggle, the people of Dharwad participated in the event with total dedication the district boasts of the Shaalmala river on the outskirts of the town of Dharwad. The town itself is an abode of evergreen vegetation.
UNKAL LAKE, DHARWD:Unkal lake is beautiful water spot in Hubli and is about 110 years old. A pictorial water spot with a magnificent sunset view, this perfect picnic spot has green garden, recreational facilities for the children, boating facilities, etc. Centre of the lake is situated the statue of Swami. The lake is 3 km away from Hubli.
CHANDRAMOULESHWARA TEMPLE: Chandramouleshwara Temple at Unkal is famous for Historical Western Chalukya period Chandramouleshwara Shiva temple and Unkal lake. Chandramouleshwara Temple is one of the beautiful temples in Dharwad district.
BHAVANISHANKAR TEMPLE: Bhavanishankar Temple This Chalukyan temple with the image of Sri Narayana is flanked by the ten incarnations of God.
ANNIGERI: Annigeri has many historical temples including Kalyani Chalukya period Amriteshwara temple. It is about 30 km from Hubli, between Hubli and Gadag.
BANASHANKARI TEMPLE: Banashankari Temple Amargol is famous for the Shankarlinga and Banashankari Temple. It is in between Hubli and Dharwad, and near to Navanagara.
GADAG DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Gadag is a city in Karnataka state in India. It is the administrative headquarters of Gadag District. Gadag and its sister city Betageri (or Betgeri) have a combined city administration,Gadag immediately brings to mind the name of Naranappa, popularly known as Kumara Vyasa, the author of Karnata Bharata Kathamanjari. It is the classic Mahabharata in Kannada. Naranappa was born in the nearby village of Koliwada. He composed his work sitting before Lord Veera Narayana, his chosen deity. The temples of Veera Narayana and Trikuteshwara are places of religious and historic importance. The blind singer Ganayogi Panchakshari Gawayi belonged to Gadag. His music school (Veereshwara Punyashrama) is famous. The Tontadarya Matha of the Veerashaiva sect of Hinduism is engaged in many educational and literary activities in and around Gadag.
VEERNARAYANA TEMPLE:Hoysala King Bittideva after taking religious vow from Shri Ramanujacharya became vaishnava. There is a traditional belief that according to his Guru’s order in 1117 A.D. he built Shri Veeranarayana temple. This is one among the Pancha Narayana temples he built.Shri Veeranarayana temple, is a beautiful mixture of Chalukya, Hoysala and Vijayanagara sculptures, garbhagrtha and the top tower of the templeare models of Chalukya sculpture, GarudaGamba and Rangamantap are in the manner of Hoysala sculpture. The main entrance gate of the temple is of Vijayangara art
DAMBALA TEMPLE:Famous for its grapes and Guavas, Dambala lies 20 kms from GADAG. It boasts of many fine temples – the best being the Dodda Basappa temple.Dedicated to Lord Shiva, the Dodda Basappa temple belongs to the Kalyani Chalukya period. It is renowned for its multigonal stellar shape. It contains one of the most beautifully designed door steps that can be seen in any temple in western India. This doorstep is exquisitely engraved with festoons, rosetter and small figures. Apart from this the temple also has marvelously carved pillars and walls. Also at Damabla is situated a Buddhist shrine dedicated to the godess Taradevi
LAKKUNDI :Once an important centre for religious training, Lakkundi to-day has several temples of Kalyani Chalukya style. Though many were damaged during the invasion, quite a few have since been rebuilt. The Kashivishwashwara temple is one of them. This beautiful temple is exquisitely decorated with carvings, scroll work, stone screens etc. A double temple also houses a Surya (Sun) temple. The Sun temple is dedicated to Surya Narayana and contains a throne for the image of the God. The seven horses of the Sun god are engraved on the stone. Apart from these temples there is also a Jain temple at Lakkundi that has an image of Mahavira seated on a Lion throne. It is called Bhahma Jinalaya and is said to have been built by the noble lady, Atttimabbe. There is also a museum run by the Archaeological Survey of India with a fine collection of art works. Lakkundi was also a centre for the minting of gold coins under the reign of various kings. These coins were called ‘Lokki Gundyanas ’ giving rise to the name Lakkundi.
GULBARGA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): GULBARGA was known as ‘KALBURGI’ in former days which means stony land in Kannada. Gulbarga district is situated in the northern part of Karnataka State. In the earlier days, Gulbarga was a district of Hyderabad Karnataka area and became a part of Karnataka State after re-organization of states. Gulbarga is 613 Km north of Bangalore and well connected by road to Bijapur, Hyderabad and Bidar. Train from southern part of India to Mumbai and Delhi passes through Gulbarga. Shri Kshetra Gangapur an well known pilgrimage of God Shri Sadguru Dattarya is very close from Gulbarga. The climate of the district is generally dry and healthy with temperature ranging from 5c to 45c and an annual rainfall of about 750mm. The entire district is situated in Deccan Plateau and the general elevation ranges from 300 to 750 meters above MSL.
Gulbarga Fort:The Gulbarga Fort, built in 1347, is located in Gulbarga district of Karnataka State. The massive Gulbarga fort is part of the earliest examples of Islamic architecture in Karnataka spawned by the Bahmani Sultanate. The fort was originally built by Raja Gulchand, a feudatory of the Orangal Kakatiyas. As Gulbarga gained prominence as the Bahmani capital, the fort was fortified by Alauddin Bahman with a deep moat and massive walls.
SHARANA BASAVESHWARA TEMPLE:Sharana Basaveshwara Temple is a shrine situated at Gulbarga district of Karnataka State. Sharanabasaveshwara temple gopuram to be gold-plated. The temple is dedicated to an eminent Hindu religious teacher and philosopher, Shri Sharana Basaveshwara. The temple houses the Samadhi of Sharana Basaveshwara at the center called as the garbha gudi. It also has a lake adjacent to it which attracts many devotees and tourists. A chariot festival, Jatra is held every year in honor of Sharana Basaveshwara which attracts huge crowds.
HASSAN DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Hassan District is one of the districts located in the southern part of Karnataka state in India. Hassan, a picturesque town in the heart of malnad with a pleasant climate, is the district headquarter. It is about 185 KM from Bangalore, the capital city of Karnataka. The Hoysalas brought world wide acclaim to the district through their unique style of Temple Architecture.
CHANNAKESHAVA TEMPLE, BELUR: Belur, situated on the banks of river Yagachi, 38 km from Hassan, is a world famous tourist destination. Belur was the erstwhile capital of the Hoysalas and referred to as Velapur, Velur and Belahur at different points in history. The town is renowned for its Chennakeshava temple, one of the finest examples of Hoysala workmanship. The temple was consecrated by the famous Hoysala king Vishnuvardhana to mark his victories in 1116 AD against the Cholas and called the Vijaya Narayana
HALEBEED :Halebeed temple is another great example of temple architecture the twin temples of Hoysaleshwara, Kedareshwara built by Vishnuvardhana and Ballala-II at Halabeed. Sequences from Ramayana, Mahabharatha & Bhagavatha are depicted on the outer walls of these temples. The efficiency and experience of the sculpture, who had carved these stories in stone is bewitching.
HOYSALAESWARA TEMPLE: standing on a platform like a casket, richly endowed with most finelydetailed scroll work in stone. Inside its dark depths, the queen Shantala Devi beckons from an alcove. The figure of mortals and immortals are larger compared to Belur and are beautifully chiseled, in shining black stone. The walls of the temples are covered with variety of gods and goddesses, animals , birds and dancing girls. There is a museum on the lawn with 12-13th century sculpture and the gold coins in use at the time. The temple faces a large tank which was built in the middle of the 11th century and received water through channels from an ancient anecut (dam) built over the Yagachi river.
SHRAVANABELAGOLA: is situated about 150 km northwest of Bangalore, the capital of Karnataka. The town has been a prominent centre for Jain art, architecture, religion and culture for over two millennia. About two thousand years ago, Bhagawan Bhadrabahu, the earliest among the great Jain Acharyas came to Shravanabelagola from Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, with his disciples. Influenced by this ascetic, Chandragupta Maurya, the great emperor who ruled a large part of India, settled in this region, handing over the reins of his kingdom to his son.
MONOLITH OF LORD GOMATESHWARA:Wedged between two stark rocky hills, the monolithic statue of Lord Gomateshwara, a Jain saint and an object of worship for centuries, standing atop one of the hills (Indragiri hill), is 18 meters high and is said to be one of the tallest and most graceful monolithic statues in the world.
RAMANATHAPURA:It is situated on the left bank of the cauvery. It is a noted centre of pilgrimage and has been called Dakshina Kashi.There are temples dedicated to Subramanya Swamy, Pattabi Ramachandra which is built in the Dravidian style. Opposite to this temple is situated the temple of Laxminarasimha. This temple is of the period of Chikka Devaraja Wodeyar.
PRASANNA RAMESHWARA TEMPLE: is the most important structure at Ramanathapur. It is an old Hoysala structure. There is also temples of Agasthyeshwara Swamy, Durga Rameshwari at this place. Ramanathapura is about 50 KMs from Hassan.
KONDAJJI :It is noted for temple of Chennakeshava (Allalanatha). It has a gigantic image of the deity which is about 14 feet high from the Panivatta. It is originally constructed during the 14th Century. During the middle of Vijayanagar period it fell into ruins and later restored. There is a hillock called Shigada-Gudda near the village from where one can have a five view of the beautiful scenery. It is about 17 Kms. from Hassan.
NUGGEHALLI : Nuggehalli is a village 18 Kms. North-East of Channarayapatna. It was once a flourishing town as seen from the inscription. Ch.238. The record states that in the reign of Someshwara Hoysala Bommanna Dannayaka made Nuggehalli into an Agrahara under the name Somanathapura and got installed in Saka 1168 Parabhava and Vijayaor 1246 A.D. the Gods Keshava, Narasimha and Gopala and in 1249 A.D. Kilaka got installed Sadashiva. It will thus be seen that the original temple was a Hoysala structure built about 20 years before that of Somanathapur in T.Narasipura Taluk. At a later date very probably during the Vijayanagar period, the present Navaranga with its square granite pillars was constructed in front of the ;original porch which has lathe turned soap-stoned pillars. The Hajara in front and the Patalankana with 18 sided high fleeted pillars are possibly still later constructions belonging to somewhere about 1700 A.D. The South and North towers are also about the same date and are of brick and mortar. The temple is generally known as the Laxminarayana Temple though the main God is Keshava.
DODDAGADDAVALLI: Doddagaddavalli is a village about 3 Kms directly West from the spot of the main road of Hassan-Belur Road. This temple with its many towers attracts the eye from a distance. It is a temple of Laxmi where the Goddess is the Chief deity. A small Virabhadra shrine of the Hoysala days is built to the North-east of this temple. In the absence of inscriptional evidence the Archaeologists would probably ascribe the temple to the late Chalukyan or very early Hoysala period owing to the comparative plainness of its walls and towers and the occurrence of the stepped Pyramids. But the inscriptional evidence shows that the temple was constructed in the year 1113 A.D. in the reign of Vishnuvardhana.
HARANAHALLY : Haranahally is a small town in Arsikere Taluk, about 10 Kms from Arsikere town. There remains of an old Fort which is said to have been erected in 1070 A.D. by a Chief named Someswaraya. Among the more important temples at this place are Chennakeshava and Someshwara, which are good specimens of Hoysala Architecture. They were built in 13th Century A.D.
KORAVANGALA : Koravangala is Dudda Hobli of Hassan Taluk. It is about 8 Kms from Hassan Town. This village contains temples in Hoysala style or architecture built in 12th Century A.D. The Bucheswara temple here is an excellent specimen of Hoysala style. This temple was built by Buchiraja.
MOSALE :Mosale is a village in Hassan Taluk and it is 12 Kms from Hassan on Mysore Road. The ;two temples at this place is dedicated to Nageswara and Chennakeshava stand side by side. They are good examples of Hoysala art. There is no clue as to the precise date and the construction of these temples, but from the styles and architecture character they may be assigned to 13th Century A.D.
MANJARABAD FORT :Manjarabad Fort is situated about 6.4 Kms from Sakleshpur town, at the height of about 3,240 ft. above the sea level. The fort is constructed of stones and mud, there are chambers all around. Tippusultan during an inspection of this work is said to have observed fog (in Kannada Manju) round about this place and called this fort as Manjarabad. The beautiful land scrape here attracts a large number of tourists.
BISLE GHAT :The district has mountainous region to the west and south west called Bisle Ghat. Bisle Ghat is situated about 65 kms from Sakaleshpur on Sakaleshpur-Subramanya road. This place is full of panoramic sceneries and a favourite place for trekkers.
GORUR :Gorur is situated about 25 kms from Hassan in Hassan-Arakalgud road. The temple of Yoganarasimha Swamy, built in the year 1586 AD, situated on the banks of river Hemavathi, is in Hoysala style. Trikuteshwara, Vasudeva and Kailaseshwara temples are situated here. The dam constructed across Hemavathi river is a picnic spot.
HAVERI DISTRICT (KARNATAKA):Haveri district is exactly in the center of Karnataka with equal distance from Bidar in the far north to Kollegal in the far south. It is also known as the gateway district to the northern districts of Karnataka. Total population is 1,439,116 of which 299022 live in urban and 1140096 in rural area.Haveri district has a very rich culture and tradition. The district is proud to be the birth place of Santa Shishunala Sharif, great saint Kanakadasaru, Sarvagnya, Hanagal Kumara Shivayogigalu, Wagish Panditaru, Writer Galaganatharu, Ganayogi Panchakshari Gavayigalu, Gnyana Peetha Awardee Dr.V.K.Gokak and many more. The freedom fighter Mailara Mahadevappa, who resisted British rule, is from Motebennur in Haveri District. Another freedom fighter Gudleppa Hallikere a native of Hosaritti is also from this district. He started a residential school Gandhi Grameen Gurukul in Hosaritti.
SIDDHESVARA TEMPLE, HAVERI:The Siddhesvara Temple, which is built of soapstone, is located in Haveri district of Karnataka state. It is considered an ornate example of 12th century Western Chalukyan art and is well-known for the many loose sculptures of Hindu deities that exist in it, and is the finest testimonial for Vishwakarma Brahmin sthapathis in sculting this temple.An interesting aspect about the temple is that it faces west, instead of facing the rising sun in the east–a standard in Chalukyan constructions. Though it is currently used as a Shaiva temple dedicated to God Shiva, historians are unsure by which faith or sect the temple was originally consecrated and to which deity. The entire basement of this temple has sunk by a few feet, making it necessary to descend into the open hall.
RANEBENNUR :is also one of the important Taluka Head Quarter in the Division. It is the most populous Town in the Division. It has got a good well equipped Arts, Science and Commerce College. A Technical Engineering College has been recently started. A few Tiles manufacturing factories are situated in the outskirts of the Town. The Town is on the Highway to Bangalore. This is an important trading Centre and is famous for the country wool rugs
BIRD SANCTUARY :Near Ranebennur, a Bird Sanctuary is located near Medleri Forest Area. In this area, the Birds known as ” Black Bustard ” are available. In the same forest, ‘”Black Deers” are also available. In Kannada, the Black Bustard is called as ” ERALADDU” in Northern Part and ” DOORSVAYANA HAKKI ” in Southern part. This Sanctuary is drawing the attention of the bird – lovers – conservationist those remotely interested in nature particularly due to this majestic bird. A big Bustard can reach up to 122 centimeters in height and the smaller 92 centimeters.
HANUMANAMATTI :there is a Rural Agriculture Institute which is intended for improvement of villages ans village – industries. This is situated between Haveri and Ranebennur by the NH-4.
KUMARPATNAM :is the new name given to the original village Nalavagal. The Harihar Ployfiber.a huge Birla concern with a cost [ outlay ] of Rs. 40 crores, is humming with all the activities. It is situated on the bank of River Tungabhadra and employs 2,500 people.
BYADAGI :is Taluka Head Quarters of the Taluka by the same name. Famous Byadagi Chillies are from this place only. During season, the Telegraph Branch o the Post Office is under heavy pressure.
HANGAL: is the Taluka Head Quarters of the Taluka by the same name. The taluka isfamous rice growing area. There are full fledged Arts, Commerce colleges in this Town. Sri Tarakeshwara Temple is famous here. Newly built I. B. is available at this place.
HIREKERUR: is head Quarter of the taluka by the same name. There is a full – fledged Arts, College in the Town. There is Inspection Bungalow in the Town.
KODAGU DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Kodagu was a kingdom rulled by the Hoysalas from the 11th to the 14th century A.D. and thereafter by the Vijayanagar kings and the Chengalvas. The Wodeyars of Kodagu ruled from the 17th to the 19th century. The British annexed Kodagu in 1834 after dethroning Chikkaveerarajendra Wodeyar. It was administered by Chief Commissioners till Independence and then in 1952, as a category ‘C’ state, had a representative in the Rajya Sabha. Upon the reorganisation of states in 1956, Kodagu became a district of Karnataka State.
MADIKERI:Madikeri was small town in 1817 AD with hardly 300 houses. After the British annexed Kodagu by 1834 AD the town began to expand. The town was constituted into a municipality by 1870 AD. The headquarters of Kodagu district, Madikeri is now a town with a population of 28,729 as per 1991 census. The town is picturesquely situated on an elevated plateau on the Western Ghats. It is at a height of 3740 feet above mean sea level. The main edifice at Madikeri is the fortress built on a flat topped hill providing spacious enclosures for the palace and its subsidiary buildings. The palace is now converted into government offices including the Deputy Commissioner’s office.
OMKARESHWARA TEMPLE:The temple was built by Lingarajendra II in 1820, according to the Indo- Saracenic style with a dome on the roof and minarets at the four corners,The Shivalinga was specially brought from Kashi.
RAJA’S SEAT:This is a small square mantapa in brick and mortar of four pillars bridged by arches, enhanced by beautiful surroundings. This lovely spot was a favourite place of recreation for the Rajas and hence was permanently associated with them. It is built on a high level ground with a commanding view of the cliffs and valleys to the west. Early in the morning as the sun is just rising in the east, the mist shrouded valley below offers a rare sight. The golden light of the setting sun is a splendor to watch. There is also a attraction of the Toy Train for children.
GANDHI MANTAPA:To the left on the way to Raja’s seat a mantapa is built on the sacred mortal remains of Mahatma Gandhi in 1956. There are two royal tombs at Madikeri. Veerarajendra began the construction of the royal tomb on a hill commanding a view from all directions to the north of Mahadevpet. The work was completed by his younger brother Lingarajendra. Veerarajendra’s grave is by the side of his queen’s. At a short distance is the tomb of Lingarajendra built by his son Chikkaveeraraja in 1820 AD. All these tombs are built in the Indo-Saracenic style, with a wide square, a handsome domb in the centre and four turrets in the angles.
ABBI FALLS: is 6 Kms from Madikeri, where the Madikeri or Muttaramutta stream naturally falls from a precipice at a height of 70 feet in between huge boulders to a rocky valley. ‘Abbi’ in Kodava language means a waterfall. The British called it the Jessy waterfalls in memory of Jessy the daughter of Madikeri’s first chaplain. To reach the falls one has to go down from the road amidst coffee estate. This is a favourite spot for tourists.
IGGUTHAPPADEVARA BETTA :Igguthappadevara betta, in the proximity of the Aiyengeri forest near Kakkabbe , is a lofty peak and is a pilgrim centre for the Coorgs in particular and other Hindus in general. Worshippers from all over the district congregate at the shrine and offer poojas and sometimes “Tulabhara”, weighing oneself with rice or coconuts and offering the same to the deity along with some money. The place is highly venerated for the presiding deity Subramanya, the patron God of Coorg.
BHAGAMANDALA: is the name well known to every pious Hindu. It is here that the sacred rivers, the Cauvery and teh Kannike meet. Tradition has it that Sujyothi, a subterranean stream, joins these rivers here. Hence the place is popularly known as “Trivini Sangama”
TALACAUVERI : is the birthplace of the sacred river Cauvery. It is situated on the slopes of the Brahmagiri Hills, and can be reached by a motorable road from Bhagamandala, which is at a distance of 8 kms. There are temples dedicated to Ishwara & Ganapathi at the source of Cauvery.
HARANGI:A reservoir with picturesque spot is one of the main attractive tourist centre at a distance of 9 kms from Kushalnagar. Best season to visit is between August and December.Private buses are available or you can hire a taxi from Kushalnagar.
DUBARE FOREST:Another picnic spot near Kushalnagar on the banks of river Cauvery. Elephant Training camp belonging to forest department is situated here. River Cauvery comes under Mahasheer fishing area, supported by Coorg Wild Life Society.
This island situated near Kushalnagar is not connected by public transport. Hire a taxi from Kushalnagar.
TIBETIAN REFUGEE CENTRE:Bylukuppa, a nearby village of Kushalnagar (belongs to Mysore district) houses refugees from Tibet. Although refugees, Tibetians have kept their culture and heritage intact. Tourists can witness their way of life, architecture; even taste Tibetian dishes and Tibetian handicrafts are also available.Regular buses operate from Kushalnagar to Periyapatna via Bylukuppa.
Triveni Sangam:A sacred site for the Hindus, Bhagamandala is on the banks of the confluence of three rivers, Cauvery, Kannika and a mythical river Sujyothi, to form the ‘Triveni Sangam’. One of the seven sacred rivers of ‘Sapta Sindhu’, river Cauvery flows for about 800 km across the stats of Karnataka and Tamilnadu before it empties into the Bay of Bengal at Poompuhar in Tamilnadu.
TADIANDAMOL 5,724 ft) is the highest peak of the district and is situated near Nalknad Palace which is 40 kms from Madikeri. The peak is not altogether inaccessible; two-thirds of it can be negotiated on a jeep. The topmost position is rather difficult to ascent. But if one perseves and climbs to the top, their exertions are amply rewarded and there from the giddy top of the peak they can look all around towards west and east and feast their eyes on the majestic grandeurs of the slopes.
PUSHPAGIRI HILL:The Pushpagiri or Subramanya hill, the celebrated mountain (5,626 ft.), is in the north-west of Kodagu, about 36 kms from Somwarpet and 1.5 km from Kumaralli, which is amidst jungle.This is a remarkable two-pointed hill of precipitous height and peculiar shape and resembles, as seen from Madikeri, a gigantic bullock hump. The ascent, which, on account of precipices of the southern and western parts of the hill, can only be effected by a circuitous route, is more difficult that of Thadiandamo
BRAHMAGIRI HILL: After reaching the sourc of Cauvery, many people, particularly the young and the able bodied, climb up about 300 feet to the summit of the Brahmagiri peak where, it is said, the seven great sages meditated.It is said that standing on a bright November morning on the summit of Brahmagiri near Tala Cauvery, the head or source of that river, the observer is filled with delight and adminsration of the grand and picturesque view that opens out before him.
NAGARAHOLE NATIONAL PARK: The Nagarahole game sanctuary was constituted in 1955, and extends over 111 sq. miles of reserved forests in the eastern region of the district. The game sanctuary comprises three forest ranges namely, Nagarahole, Kallahalla & Thitimathi. The sanctuary is situated at the distance of 105 kms from Madikeri, and is close to Heggadadevanakote of Mysore district. It is accessible by a good all weather motorable road from Thithimati, which branches of from Mysore & Madikeri.
KOLAR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Kolar district is located in the southern region of the State and happens to be the eastern-most district of the Karnataka State. The district is bounded by the districts of Bangalore and Tumkur on the west and on all other sides by the districts of the adjoining States of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. On the north, it is bounded by Anantapur district; on the east by Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh and on the south by the districts of North Arcot and Dharmapuri of Tamil Nadu. The district headquarters, Kolar town is located 65 Kms, north east of Bangalore.
ANTHARAGANGE :Located 3 Kms from Kolar, Antharagange , a sacred stream, that pours sweet water from the mouth of a bull. This scenic spot, known as Shatha Shringa Parvatha, abounds in rocks of many shapes and rare flora and fauna. The hill top resembling a snakehood- (Havina Hede), gives a bird’s eye view of seven towns. It is a trekker’s delight, accessible from two routes, steep steps on one side and a motorabel route on the other. The granite temple of Neelakanteshwara, at the foothills, is an attraction
AVANI:Known as the Gaya of the south, Avani has a cluster of Ramalingeshwara temple all within one courtyard dedicated to Lakshmana, Bharata and Shatrugna as well as a Shankar Math built by the Nolamba dynasty. Legend has it, that the hill above was home to Valmiki’s ashram, where Lava & Kusha were born and raised.
KOLAR GOLD MINES KOLAR GOLD FIELDS. (KARNATAKA): This little mining town, about 22 kms, east of Bangalore, was once the pride of the erstwhile Mysore state, and also that of India. This gold mine produced a sizeable amount of gold during the days of the British Raj. It employed nationals from Britain, Italy, Germany and also a good number of Angto -Indians.
MULBAGAL:Twenty-nine Kms. from Kolar, is Mulbagal, a popular tourist stopover, enroute Tirupati. The Anjaneya temple and the Someshwara temple, with its exquisite bronze icon of the Dancing Nataraja, of the Vijayanagar period are a great draw. The tomb of Haider Oulia, a great muslim saint and 13 Kms. away, the tomb of the 15th Century Madhwa saint, Shripadaraya are also popular spots.
RANGASTHALA:On the way from Chikkaballapur to Gouribidanur, this village has a beautiful temple of Lord Ranganatha (Vishnu) in the Vijayanagar style.
MUDDENAHALLI:Muddenhalli, birthplace of Sir M. Visweswaraya, Visionary engineer and statesman and architect of Karnataka’s progress. Visit his home, now converted into a museum. The village of Nandi, houses the Bhoga Nandeeshwara temple. It is really a confluence of two temples and one of the finest examples of Dravidian temple architecture.
KURDUMALE:Twelve Kms. away from Mulbagal, was the capital of the Hoysala dynasty. The giant, thirteen and a half foot sculpture of Kurdumale Ganesha and the Someshwara temple, attract thousands of visitors from the surrounding states.
KAIVARA:This town is associated with the epic, Mahabharatha. Known as Ekchakrapura, this is where the Pandavas lived in exile, incognito. Bhima, one of the Pandava brothers is said to have killed the asura (demon) Bakasura, who was tormenting the people. Myth has it that a nearby cave in the hill, contains the corpse of the demon, which supposedly drips blood during Shivaratri. There is a garden complex in Kaivara, containing gardens and musical fountains. Also, in the garden are five cottages named after the pandavas and a mini zoo with herbarium. The temples of Amaranarayana and Bhimeshwara as well as the Yogi Narayana ashram are worth a visit.
BANGARU TIRUPATI:Modeled on the famous Venkateshwara temple of Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh nearby, this temple is thronged by pilgrims, particularly during the month of Shravana(July-August). Darshan of the deity is through a small window in the sanctum.
VIRUPAKSHI:Five Kms. from Mulbagal, Virupakshi has virupaksha temple built during the reign of the Vijayanagar king Deva Raya II. The Parvati shrine here has the figure of a lion on front of it just like Nandi in front of Siva temples. This is rather unusual.
BUDIKOTE :This is a village, about 15 Kms. southwest of Bangarpet town, whose history dates to the 8th Century A.D. Budikote, meaning “fort of ashes”. Is said to derive its name from an immense holocaust, believed to have been performed there, in its hoary past. Budikote is the birthplace of Haider Ali and a spot among the boulders in the fort, is known to tourists as the place where his cradle was rocked. The important temples here are those of Venkataramana and Someshwara.
KOTILINGESHWARA: Kotilingeshwara is the presiding deity of the temple of the village of Kammasandra. Kammasandra is a small village situated in Kolar district of Karnataka state. It is about five kilometers from Kolar Gold Fields. The main attraction of this peaceful retreat, which is surrounded by plush greenery, is a huge Shivalinga. Measuring 33 m, this shivalinga is tallest of its kind in the world and accompanying it is a 11 m tall Basava, surrounded by lakhs of small shivalingas spread over an area of 15 acres.
KOLARAMMA: is the presiding deity of the town of Kolar in Karnataka State. The Kolaramma temple is thousand years old and built by the Cholas in the South Indian style. It has two shrines in Dravidian style of Architecture. Goddess Parvathi is worshipped as Kolaramma by the people of Kolar. The erstwhile maharajas of Mysore frequently visited this temple to get the blessings of Kolaramma. The temple itself has beautifully carved statues and designs all done using the abundantly available granite stones.
KOPPAL DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): The history of Koppal can be traced back to the kingdoms of Shathavahanas, Gangas, Hoysalas and Chalukya Dynasties. The name of the district i.e. “KOPPAL” is found in the poetic work of the great poet Kavirajamarga (During King Nrupathunga’s time of 814-878 A.D.) as “VIDITHA MAHA KOPANA NAGARA”. During Ashoka’s period, the Jainism gained greater momentum in this region. Therefore, it was called “Jainkashi”. In twelth century A.D. Veerashaivaism of Social Reformer Basaveshwara became popular. The present Gavi Math of Koppal has great attraction.
Anegundi of Gangavathi Taluk was the first capital of great Vijayanagara Dynasty. The old palace and fort still exist where annual festival called “Anegundi Utsava” is being celebrated in a befitting manner every year. The other important historical places of Koppal district are Itagi, Kukanoor, Madinoor, Indrakeela Parvatha, Kanakagiri, Pura, Chikkabenakal, Hirebenakal & Huligi.
ANEGUNDI:is in Gangavathi Taluk and is one of the most ancient places in the district, meaning in Kannada “elephant pit” said to have been the place where the elephants of the Vijayanagara kings were kept, is situated on the left bank of the river Tungabhadra, just opposite the ruined capital of the Vijayanagara empire. Anegundi has been identified with a part of Kishkindha, the kingdom of Vali and Sugreva of the Ramayana. The picture at the left side shows one of the ancient palaces in ANEGUNDI and at the right side picture shows the Anegundi Fort Entrance Gate. Both Hampi and Anegundi were destroyed by the confederacy of Muslim kings after the great battle of Rakshasa-Tangadgi in 1565. Tippu Sultan sacked the town of Anegundi in 1776. For more photos related to Anegundi
ITAGI : in Yelburga taluk, is about three miles from the south of the Bannikoppa railway station on the Gadag-Koppal line. This place is famous for the Mahadeva temple, which is one of the finest of the later Chalukyan temples. The temple, which faces east consists of a shrine with an ante-chamber, a closed hall with porches on either side of it towards the north and the south, and the pillared hall which is open at the sides. The pillared hall was originally supported by 68 pillars. Of these, 26 are large ones, standing on the floor and forming the main support of the roof.
KINNAL: in Koppal taluk, about eight miles from Koppal, is noted for manufacture of toys and images by Chitragars. Weaving, preparing of combs from horns and pottery are the other industries of this place.
KANAKAGIRI: in Gangavathi taluk, is an ancient place situated on the Gangavati-Lingasugur road, about 13 miles from Gangavati. Kanakagiri means a “Hill of God” and its old name was Swarnagiri with the same meaning. This place was probably the head quarters of the southern viceroyalty of the Mauryas. It is said that Kanaka Muni, a saint, performed penance at this place. The place has several temples built by the Naiks of Kanakgiri, the chief among them being the Kanakachalapathi temple, which is a large one and is of considerable architectural charm; it is a fine specimen of soutn Indian architecture of the Vijayanagara times and has spacious halls and massive pillars.
KOPPAL :is the District head quarters and is situated on the left bank of Hirehalla, a tributary of the Tungabhadra, and is on the Guntakal-Hubli railway line. Koppal is situated at the foot of a rock, the later being crowned by a fort. There is another range of hills to the west, the highest spur of which is called Palkigundu, 2,399 ft. in height. There is another spur on the east, called Gavimatha,
KOPPAL FORT:is another important object of historical interest at Koppal. It is not known definitely by whom it was built. But it was acquired by Tippu Sultan in 1786 AD from a Paleyagar and rebuilt into one of the strongesxt forts with the help of French engineers. In may 1790, it was besieged by the forces of the British and the Nizam. ( Right side picture shows the Koppal Fort ) Sir John Malcolm, who participated in this siege, has described it as without exception the strongest place. The fortifications consists of two forts, The upper fort is situated on a lofty and almost isolated summit in a gorge on the eastern side of a cluster of tocky hills which occupy an area of several square miles. The fort is about 400 feet above the plains.
KUKANOOR :in Yelburga taluk, is a small town lying seven miles due north of Bannikoppa station on the Guntakal-Hubli railway line. The town, though now small, was an important place in the early and mediaeval days and is rich in antiquarian remains of the later Chalukyan style of architecture and these buildings range from the 8th to the 13th century A.D. and illustrate the building tendencies of the age. The group of temples that represents the early Chalukyan school is called teh Navalinga group.
MUNIRABAD: in Koppal taluk, about eight kilo meters from Hospet, on the Hubli-Guntakal railway line and about 32 kilometers from Koppal District headquarters. It has become an important place now, especially due to Tungabhadra dam ( shown in right side picture ). The Left Bank Canal from here, which passes through the Koppal, Gangavathi taluks, irrigates a large extent of agricultural lands in the district.
PURA: in Kushtagi taluk, about the five miles from Tavargera, is noted for its fine and spacious temple of Someshwara which has Koti Lingas , where annually a big jatra(Fair) is held in the month of Shravana.
Mahadeva Temple, Koppal
MAHADEVA TEMPLE: at Itagi dedicated to Shiva is among the larger temples built by the Western Chalukyas and perhaps the most famous. The temple has two other shrines, dedicated to Murthinarayana and Chandraleshwari, parents of Mahadeva, the Chalukya commander. Soapstone is found in abundance in the regions of Haveri, Savanur, Byadgi, Motebennur and Hangal. The great archaic sandstone building blocks used by the Badami Chalukyas were superseded with smaller blocks of soapstone and with smaller masonry.
MANDYA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA):
SRIRANGAPATNA: The man who gave the British nightmares in the last quarter of the eighteenth century, Tipu Sultan, son of the legendary soldier King Hyder Ali ruled his kingdom of Mysore from this island town. Srirangapatna is a land of history and culture. It is home to several monument that tell eloquent tales of courage and honour. Hyder Ali and Tipu Sultan fought four wars with the British. In the Fourth Mysore war in 1799 Tippu Sultan was killed in the battle field.
TIPU’S SUMMER PALACE aria Daulat, built in 1784, was his favourite retreat. Being a fine example of sarcenic architecture, it is now a museum and the mural paintings in it tell eloquently of his valour and his losing battle against British Expansion. It has ornate and beautiful frescoes.
GUMBAZ:Tippu’s Fort at Srirangapatna holds within it the Juma mosque and the Ranganatha Swamy Temple. Outside the fort, is the Gumbaz, the tomb of Hyder Ali and Tippu Sultan. Gumbaz is a magnificent example of Indo-Islamic architecture, with an imposing dome, doors of ebony inlaid with ivory.The Masjid-e-ala mosque built during Tipu’s time(1784) was completely painted by the “Baburi” motif which was later whitewashed by the British. It has with two tall graceful minarets and beautiful carved flowery designs on the roof and pillars. In the centre of the mosque are delicately chiseled bunches of grapes and other creepers. A stony solar clock is in the courtyard.
RANGANATHITTU BIRD SANCTUARY:Four K.M.s from Srirangapatna and 18 K.M.s from Mysore is the Ranganatittu Bird Sanctuary that allows a close view of birds, both exotic and familiar and of crocodiles that resemble mud banks. Birds from as far away as Siberia make this their home. River Kaveri spreads among stones and lagoons to form a group of islands full of lush green vegetation making this place an ideal haven for birds which migrate here from all over the world.
KOKKARE BELLUR :Situated 12 kilometers from Maddur towards Halagur, this is a unique bird sanctuary which has been internationally recognised as it co-exists with the village community. The birds nest in the trees that are found in and around the village. One can view colorful birds like grey pelicans which arrive from Australia and various other parts of the world during April-May.
MELKOTE :36 Kms North from Mandya is Melkote, a sacred pilgrim centre, known for its Vairamudi festival in March- April. More than one lakh devotees congregate here for this festival. Melkote used to be known for its Handlooms. The great saint Ramanujacharya walked this land a thousand years ago. The Chaluvanarayan Swamy and Yaganarasimha swamy temples of Melkote boast of a history of more than 1000 years. Melkote is also home to the Academy of Sanskrit Research.
SHIVASAMUDRAM: where the river Kaveri cascades down in two picturesque waterfalls, is treat to watch. Falling down 75 Mts. into a deep rocky gorge, these falls are at their best during the Monsoon months (July to November). Asia’s first hydro-electric project was set up here in 1905. Power was evacuated from this power project to Kolar Gold Fields near Bangalore for running the Gold mines.
SHIMSHA :A fine Inspection bungalow overlooks the deep and verdant Shimsha valley where the river Shimsha joins the Cauvery. This place is reached by the road that branches off from the main Maddur-Malavalli-Kollegal road. A large number of tourists visit this place.
KAVERI FISHING CAMP :Kaveri Fishing Camp, at Bhimeshwari. A paradise for anglers with the rich Mahaseer fish found in abundance. Karnataka Jungle Lodges and Resort, Bangalore manages this Fishing Camp. It has comfortable cottages (They call them Log Huts) and tents, giving the customers taste of the wild and comfort of home simultaneously.
HOSA HOLALU TEMPLE:The Lakshminarayana temple is a magnificient example of Hoysala architecture of the thirteenth century. The intricate carvings in stone depict various images from the Mahabharata and other epics.The temple is a trikutachala or three-celled temple. Only the main cell has a sukhanasi and a tower.
BASARALU TEMPLE :The Mallikarjuna Temple at Basaralu is a good and highly ornate specimen of Hoysala architecture, built in the thirteenth century by Harihara Dannayaka, during the rule of the Hoysala King Narasimha II. Two fine elephants with animated appearance flank the doorway of the porch. Impressively worked images of a height of about two and a half feet, representing Gods and heroes, adorn the main wall above the basement. Sixteen handed Shiva dancing on Andhakasura’s head, Durga with 22 arms and Saraswati, both in dancing postures, Ravana lifting the Kailasa, Arjuna shooting the fish target, Draupadi rushing forth with garland and Gajasura Mardana are some of the remarkable images which are particularly interesting. There are six friezes of sculptures depicting war elephants, horsemen, lions, swans and makaras and illustrating Ramayana, Mahabharata, Bhagavata and several puranic episodes.
BRAHMESHWARA TEMPLE, KIKKERI :Situated about eight miles from K.R.Pet town and ten miles from Sravanabelagola, this temple is a fine specimen of Hoysala architecture. It was constructed in A.D.1171, during the rule of the Hoysala King Narasimha I, by a lady named Bammare Nayakiti. This ornate structure has some special features. The sides of the temple are convex viewed from outside and bulge out so that the interior dimensions are widened beyond the base. The deep indentation of the horizontal courses in the basement and the knife-edge to which the cornices have been brought are also interesting points. It is a single celled temple and has an impressive and lofty stone tower. There is a well executed image of Vishnu, about four feet high, in one of the niches of the navaranga The madanike figures carved on the capitals of the pillars of the navaranga are of extra-ordinary workmanship and are life-like..
HEMAGIRI : in K.R.Pet Taluk, about six miles from K.R.Pet Town, is on the bank of the river Hemavati. The left bank of the river has a continuous strip of grand and fascinating foliage. Many people frequent this place for rest and recuperation. An anicut is constructed at the foot of the hill across the Hemavati river here and is called the Hemagiri anicut, from where channels are drawn for irrigation purposes. A big cattle fair is held here at the time of the car festival of the local Venkataramanaswami Temple.
SATYAGRAHA SOUDHA SHIVPURA :A monument to mark the freedom struggle at Maddur in particular and Mandya district in general, this is an architecturally unique building located on Bangalore Mysore Highway, 80 K.M. away from Bangalore and 25 K.M.s from Mandya. It has a small garden around it and a musical fountain.
TANNUR LAKE :Among the many lakes in the district, the Tannur lake which was also called the Moti Talab, in the Pandavapura Taluk, is an old lake with historical association. It is situated about 3 miles to the left of the seventh mile of the Pandavapura Railway Station- Nelligere Road. Being located on a hilltop, one can enjoy a panoramic view of the valley below and other hills in the area. A climb up the hillock next to the lake can also be a wonderful experience. This tank has been constructed by putting up an earthen bund across the gap between two rocky hills. The bund of this tank is said to have been constructed in the Hoysala days (12th century) by Sri Ramanujacharya who named it as Tirumalasagara. Well pleased by the clear water of the lake, Nasir Jung, son of the then Subedar of the Deccan, gave it the name of Moti Talab(lake of pearls) in 1746. The bund was later repaired by Tipu Sultan.
KAVERI VANA :The musical fountain in the well maintained “Kaveri Vana” gardens in front of the D.C. Office attracts hundreds of visitors every Sunday. The statue of Kaveri in the centre of the dancing fountain is a rare feature that lends it a lot of beauty and grandeur.
MYSORE DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Mysore city is at 770m above sea level and 140 kms from Bangalore. Also known as the City of Palaces, Mysore retains a quaint charm, that never fails to enchant. Situated in the southern part of the Deccan Plateau, Mysore District is an undulating tableland, covered in parts by granite outcrops and fringed by verdant forests. From ancient times, this district has played a significant role in the history of South India. Mysore District is a popular tourist destination, offering several attractions ranging from the royal splendour of Mysore City and its fabulous Dasara Festival to exquisite temples, pilgrimage centres and scenic spots.
MAHARAJA’S PALACE:Designed by the English Architect, Henry Irwin, the Mysore Palace dominates the skyline of Mysore. A three storied structure in the Indo-Saracenic style built between 1897-1912, the palace has beautifully designed square towers at cardinal points, covered with domes. The Durbar Hall with its ornate ceiling and sculpted pillars and the Kalyanamantapa (Marriage Pavilion) with its glazed tiled flooring and stained glass, domed ceiling are worth noting. Intricately carved doors, the golden howdah (elephant seat),paintings as well as the fabulous, jewel encrusted golden throne (displayed during Dasara) are amongst the palace’s other treasures. The walled palace complex houses the Residential Museum (incorporating some of the Palace’s living quarters),temples and shrines including the Shwetha Varahaswamy temple. The palace is illuminated on Sundays, Public Holidays as well as during the Dasara Celebrations when 97,000 electric bulbs are used to illuminate it.
CHAMUNDI HILLS:The hill is 3,489ft. above the sea levels and is 12 km from Mysore city. An energetic visitor will be well repaid by climbing up the 1000 steps, fashioned about 300 years ago, and a good motorable road leads to the top of the hill. The largest and the best know is the large Dravidian Temple, dedicates to Sri Chamundeshwari Devi, the tutelary deity of Mysore and here royal house, generally regarded as an incarnation of Parvati or Durga. One account claims that the Goddess slew two demons, Chanda and Munda , so winning for herself a name combined of both. But the more usually accepts version speaks of here as Chamundi – Mahishasura – Mardini, the slayer of minotaur.
THE SACRED BULL:Half a top of the hill you may reachthe bull in a few minutes. Fashioned says legend, in one night, out of the basalt of the hill, this recumbent colossal Nandi (the vehicle of Shiva) was a gift of Dodda Deva Raja. Over 25 ft long and 4.8 mt high (16ft high), adorned with ropes, chains, bells and jewels of stone, the bull with half shut eyes, which seem, in yogic fashion.
MYSORE ZOO (CHAMARAJENDRA ZOOLOGICAL GARDEN): was started in 1892 by chamaraja Wodeyar X, then the king of Mysore. Initially as a private Zoo, and was named as Khas-Bangale. It was also called as Thamash Bangle. The Zoo which has now spread over an area of 250 acres was initially ment for the exclusive visit of the royal family but public entry started as early as 1920. It is located inside the city unlike many other Zoos in India and Mysore Zoo is considered to be one of the best in the world.
ST. PHILOMENA’S CHURCH :This Roman Catholic Church was built in AD 1840. It was initially known as St. Joseph Chaver which later assumed the present name. The twin towers of the church stand majestically at 175 feet, the design is gothic and it is said to resemble the St. Patrick’s cathedral at New York and a church at Cologne. The church is located about I km from Mysore Palace on the Bangalore highway. The then king of Mysore Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV laid the foundation for construction of the church in 1933. It has been designed a French Architect.The stained glass windows, made in France, overlooking the apse, showing the Birth of Christ, Baptism of Christ by St.John the last supper and the crucifixion of Christ are works of art. The altar bears the statue of St.Philomina a 3rd century saint from Greece. This church is considered to be the most beautiful in Karnataka. The church has a celler where there is a statue of St.Philomina was a holy saint during the 3rd ventury in Greece, in a reclining posture. A piece of her bone and cloths are in this church.
RANGANATHITTU BIRD SANCTUARY :Just outside Srirangapatna, 4th from Srirangapatna, near Mysore, the Cauvery river meanders around a string of tiny nesting sites of waterfowls. Experiences the excitement of a boat ride that takes you within touching distance of the birds as marsh crocodiles bask in the sun. Delight watching the winged visitors making happy forays into the water. You could also you’re your powers of observation by trying to spot flying branches of the tallest trees at dusk.
BRINDAVAN GARDEN (KRS-KRISHNA RAJA SAGAR):The Krishnaraja Sagar reservoir across the legendary Cauvery River is round 18km north-west of Mysore. The Brindavan Gardens are located just a level below the dam.Often described as the best example of illuminated terrace gardens in the country, the idea was brainchild of Sir M.Visveshwaraiah and Sir Mirza M ismail, former Devans of Mysore. The overall design here displays an orientation of Mughal patterns-with garden paths and a shimmering necklace of fountains.On the South bank there is a pavilion, where visitors can get a breathtaking view of the gardens. Other highlights at the gardens include a children’s park, a fisheries station and a hydraulic research station. Adding a touch of sanctity to the place is a beautiful sculpture of Goddess Cauvery at the foot of the dam.
JAGANMOHAN PALACE :This Art Gallery located to the west with a walking distance to that of main palace, which is famous Art Gallery. It was built during rule of Krishnaraja Wodeyar III in 1861 to celebrate the marriage of his daughter, the princess of Mysore, because the main palace was destroyed in a fire in 1897. The main door of this Museum is it self a master piece of Art with intricate carvings which is said to have been made in just 70 days. The museum was officially started in 1915, and has since been expended adding many artifacts. This Art Gallery was linded to the famous Mysore style of painting of rare original paintings and artiacts and entrusted the Administration of this Museum to a committee. The museum was named after sri Jayachamrajendra Wodeyar in 1955 as Jaganmohn Palace Art Gallery.
SOMANATHAPURAM TEMPLE : Situated in the unobtrusive village of Somanathpur, 35km from Mysore, the exquisitely carved, star-shaped temple with triple towers is a perfect example of Hoysala architecture. The friezes on its outer walls with their intricately cared rows of caparisoned elephants, charging horsemen, and mythological birds and beasts will leave you spellbound. Beautifully sculpted images of gods, godesses and scenes from the epics, as well as the remarkable ornate celings in the pillared hall take your breath away.
KARANJI LAKE MYSORE:Picturesquely located at the foot of Chamundi hills and adjascent to the Mysore Zoo, the Karanji lake is a beautiful bird sanctuary in the heart of Mysore City which provides a wonderful habitat for more than 70 different species of avifauna. The recently re-developed lake, spanning across 90 acres has a butterfly park, boating, children’s corner, a watch tower and India’s largest walkthrough aviary.
BANDIPUR NATIONAL PARK :Tread the path of the erstwhile Maharajas of Mysore with a visit to Bandipur, about 80 km south of Mysore on the Mysore-Ooty Road. The reserve is a playground for wildlife, with elephants taking the lead role. Be prepared for an unforegetable experience – you might see a tiger prowling admidst the mix of deciduous, evergreen forest and scrubland vegetation. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the enchanting Niligiri Mountains with its mist-covered peaks, Bandipur was once the Mysore Maharaja’s private hunting ground. It was brought under Project Tiger in 1973. This is one of the best game sanctuaries in India to observe and photograph wildlife in close proximity. A temple perched atop Himvad Gopalaswamy Hill, the highest peak in the Bandipur range, is worth a visit.
RAMANAGARA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Ramanagara previously called by the name Close pet in memory of Mr. Closepet who was ruling this town during the period of British and it has been renamed as Ramanagara during the period of Kengal Hanumanthaiah, Ex. Chief Minister, Govt. of Karnataka. Recently it has been upgraded from sub-division to District head quarters. The city is situated along Bangalore -Mysore State Highway 17 at a distance of 50 Kms from Bangalore.
JANAPADA LOKA, RAMANAGARA:Janapada Loka is a museum of folk art of Karnataka. Sprawling across 15 acres, Janapada Loka or Folk-culture World is a world of simplicity and art. Janapada Loka has been founded by Nage Gowda, a prominent Kannada folklorist and author. Janapada Loka, a subsidiary of the Karnataka Janapada Parishath, is dedicated to preserve and promote folk art and culture. The complex has an art gallery, an open-air theatre, a studio and a museum. Janapada Loka is located near Ramanagaram and is 53 kms away from Bangalore city. Annual Festivals like Lokothsava in February–March, Kite Festival in July, Dassera Festival in October are organized which attracts people from all over the world
RAMADEVARA BETTA : Rock-climbers and adventure seekers need look no further. 50 Kms south-west from Bangalore, Ramanagaram, provides the ideal location with landscaped rock faces. Another major attraction at Ramanagaram is the silk cocoon marketing center. One of the most famous Hindi movies Sholay was shot in Ramanagaram.
RAICHUR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): The district of Raichur is rich in historical associations and cultural traditions. It has a considerable number of places, which are of interest from the points of view of history, archaeology, religion, culture, modern development, etc.
BICHAL:Bichal, in Raichur taluk, is noted for the Matha of Sri Saviradevaru Channaveera Shivacharya Swami.
DEODURG:Deodurg is the headquarters town of the taluk of the same name and is about 34 miles west of Raichur. It was formerly a stronghold of Bidar chieftains and has an old fort. Nearby, there is a hill, which contains talc.
DEVARBHUPUR:Devarbhupur, in Lingsugur taluk, about 11 miles from Lingsugur, is noted for its Amareshwara temple and jaggery trade. The temple is beautifully situated amidst hillocks, which have green foliage. Under the auspices of this temple, annually a big jatra takes place in the month of Phalguna when a cattle fair is also held.
DEVARSUGUR:Devarsugur, in Raichur taluk, situated on the right bank of the Krishna river, is noted for its Sugureshwara or Veerabhadra temple. The annual jatra of this temple, held in the month of Margashira, attracts a large number of people.
GABBUR:Gabbur, in Deodurg taluk, has several old temples and inscriptions. In the old days, it was a center of education and was also known as Gopuragrama. The most important of the temples are those of Male-Shankara, Venkateshwara, Ishwara, Bangara Basappa and Hanuman. In addition to these, there are several ruined temples, two or three mathas, a few cisterns and a gateway called the Chandi-gage with a temple on either side of it. The Male-Shankara temple is built of rough grey stone and has a high plinth. The carving in the temple is plain on account of the roughness of the stone. There are two inscriptional tablets at the northern and western entrances and there is a large cistern in front of the temple.
GANDHAL:Gandhal, in Raichur taluk, which is situated about 20 miles south of Raichur, has a well known temple of Panchamukhi Prana Devaru (Hanuman with five faces) on a hillock. Visitors to Mantralaya (now in Andhra Pradesh) make it a point to visit this temple also.
GURUGUNTA:Gurugunta, in Lingsugur taluk, was the chief town of a small principality (samsthana) of Naiks related to the chiefs of Kankgiri and Shorapur. In the old days, these chiefs owed allegiance to Viajayanagara kings or Adil Shahs of Bijapur. The Gurugunta samsthana had survived under the Nizams and was merged in the district in 1949.
HUTTI (CAMP & VILLAGE):Hutti, in Lingsugur taluk, about 11 miles from Lingsugur, is well known for its gold mines.
JALADURGA:Jaladurga, in Lingsugur taluk, is an island fort situated picturesquely in the Krishna river, about eight miles from Lingsugur. It was an important fort of the Adil Shahs of Bijapur, and Meadows Taylor has given a fine description of it in his book, Noble Queen (1874).
JAWALGERA:Jawalgera, in Sindhanur taluk, is about 54 miles from Raichur. A Central State Farm has been started near this place, with an area of 7.569 acres.
KADLUR:Kadlur, in Raichur taluk, is looked upon as a sacred place. To the north of this village, the Bhima joins the Krishna. According to an inscription found at Chikalparvi, the Vijayanagara king Krishnadevaraya visited this pilgrim center with his family and offered worship.
KALLUR:Kallur, in Manvi taluk, is a large village, about 13 miles from Raichur. The village is surrounded on all sides by granite hills except the east and derives its name from the abundance of the boulders on these hills. The village and the hills around are full of antiquities.
KALMALA:Kalmala, in Raichur taluk, about 9 miles from Raichur, has the samadhi of a noted saint, Kariappa Tata.
KAVITAL:Kavital, in Manvi taluk, is a large village, situated on the Raichur-Lingsugur road, about 40 miles from Raichur and 18 miles from Lingsugur. There is a hillock to the south-west of the village which has several natural caverns. Along the slopes of the hill, artifacts, iron slag and pieces of ancient pottery were found. To the west of the village is an ash-mound on the top of which, in later times, a temple has been built. The ash-mound marks the site of an old smelting factory. There is an interesting medieval temple in the village, called Tryambakeshwara temple, which has three shrines, two of which contain lingas. There are two Kannada inscriptions in the temple and a beautiful image of Mahishasuramardini in one of the two niches in its western wall. All the three shrines are of a uniform size, each being 9 feet deep and 8 feet broad, and each one has an ante-chamber.
KORVA (KOLAN) (NARADAGADDE):Korva, in Raichur taluk, is a beautiful island surrounded by the Krishna river, about 18 miles north-east of Raichur. It is looked upon as a holy place and is popularly known as Naradagadde, where sage Narada is said to have performed penance. A fine road has been laid from Raichur to this place, which has been also electrified.
KOTEKAL:Kotekal, in Manvi taluk, is situated on the Raichur-Lingsugur road, about 11 miles from Lingsugur. The village has two hillocks, each having a fort at its top. Along the slopes of these hillocks have been found artifacts, iron-slag and gold-crushers, belonging to the prehistoric period.
LINGSUGUR:Lingsugur is the headquarters of the taluk and the sub-division of the same name and is a commercial center. Till 1905, it was the headquarters of the Lingsugur district. Neolithic implements like stone axes, hammers, flakes and cores and plain pottery were discovered here.
MANVI:Manvi is the headquarters town of the taluk of the same name and a centre of developmental activities under the Tungabhadra Project. It has a well-known temple of Jagannathaswami and an old fort now in ruined condition.
MASKI:Maski, in Lingsugur taluk, situated 17 miles south-east of Lingsugur and 72 miles south-west of Raichur, on the right bank of a river of the same name, which is a tributary of the Tungabhadra, is highly interesting from the points of view of prehistory and protohistory. It must have been a town of considerable size and importance in the remote past, as is evident from the traces of its iron and gold workings covering a large area, and from the references made to it in a number of inscriptions ranging from the 10th to the 16th century A.D.
MATMARI:Matmari, in Raichur taluk, is looked upon as a holy place. It has a temple dedicated to Veerabhadra and the well-known Matha of Sri Saviradevaru Channaveera Shivacharya Swami is nearby.
MUDGAL:Mudgal, in Lingsugur taluk, a town about 10 miles south-west of Lingsugur, is one of the most important places of historical interest in the district, next in importance only to Raichur. Mudgal or Mudugal has a history dating back to the Yadava dynasty, several inscriptions of which have been discovered in and around the town. In the beginning of the 14th century, it was an important outpost of the Kakatiya kingdom. Malik Naib, after seizing Devagiri, captured Mudgal along with Raichur. After the establishment of the Bahmani dynasty and the Bijapur kings took possession of the western and southern parts of the territory of the Bahmani kingdom including the forts of Raichur and Mudgal.
CITADEL:The Bala Hisar or citadel is built at the top of the hillock and commands a good view of the interior of the fort as well as of the surround country. The view gives a good idea of the extent of the fort and of the large garrison, which could be accommodated therein. There are several natural depressions in the rock above, which were utilized for storing water. Bastions and walls are built at different points for the defence of the buildings of the Bala Hisar. In the middle also, there is a large bastion, round in form. The hill near this bastion rises in the form of a spur and is detached from the lower parts of the hill by a ravine. There are some natural caverns below the Nauras Burj. The fort is defended towards the south-west by a range of hills. In the western part of the fort is a large cistern called the Hikrani Baoli – about 140 yards in length and 40 to 50 yards in breadth.
MUDVAL:Mudval, in Lingsugur taluk, is situated at about 12 miles from Lingsugur. The village has a stone-wall which shows that it was of considerable importance at some time. This is one of the important pre-historic sites of the district. Artifacts were found on the slopes of the hill about a mile and a half to the west of the village. Gold crushers and iron slags were found in abundance near this place.
MUKKUNDA:Mukkunda, in Sindhanur taluk, is situated on the bank of the Tungabhadra, nearby a hill, about 20 miles from Sindhanur. There is an old and large fort on the top of the hill. At the entrance to the village, there is an old temple of Murari, built of stone. An island in the river has the dargah of Gaddikhader Wali, where an annual urs is held, which attracts a large number of people.
TOMB:The gap in the inner wall mentioned above was made recently to give access to the road. Adjoining the Hindu wall, there is a tomb of a Muslim saint, Pir Sailani Shah. This is a handsome and fascinating structure built in Bijapur style, comprising a small rectangular hall, with an one-arched opening in each face – the arches resting on small stone pillars carved in Chalukyan fashion – and surmounted by a beautiful narrow-necked dome set on a circular row of lotus petals and ornamented with four small slim turrets at the corners. The big gateway situated here derives its name from the name of the saint and is called Sailani Darwaza. The road issuing from the gap proceeds eastwards. Some distance beyond the Hindu wall and to the south of the road, there is a large square cistern built of solid stone masonry. Further to the south and at the foot of the hillock, is a small mosque called the Kali Masjid, in the construction of which Hindu material has been freely used, as is evident from the beautifully polished Chalykyan pillars of black basalt and the fragments of Kannada inscriptions found on the slabs in its walls.
FORT JAMI MASJID :The road next passes by the side of the Fort Jami Masjid situated to the north of the road. It is a handsome structure having two entrances, one in the south and the other in the east. The southern entrance, which is supported on six massive stone pillars of the Chalukyan style with square bases, cruciform capitals and circular and decorated middle portions, seems to have originally been the mantapa of some temple. Just opposite the entrance in the courtyard of the mosque is a cemetery, which is said to contain the graves of some members of the Adil Shahi dynasty. The eastern entrance of the mosque is crowned with three small domes, the middle one of which is circular and the other two pyramidal. To the left of this entrance, outside the mosque proper, is a deep well of considerable dimensions with masonry walls of stone all around.
Ek-Minar-ki-Masjid:A little further, to the left of the road, is an interesting mosque known as the Ek-Minar-ki_Masjid. One Amber constructed this mosque, according to the Persian inscription on its threshold. In this mosque also, the pillars supporting the roof of the entrance area all Chalukyan pillars. It has only one minaret, as its name itself suggests. The minaret, about 65 ft. high and 13 ft. in diameter, is built in Persian style and is identical in form with the Chand Minar at Daulatabad erected in 1445 by Ala-ud-din Bahmani and the minaret of the famous college of Mahmud Gawan at Bidar built during 1472. The minaret, which consists two storeys, each furnished with windows and surrounded by projecting galleries girded with stone balustrades, gradually tapers from bottom to top and has, at the top, a round dome in the Bahmani style. A winding staircase leads up to the top-storey, from which an excellent view of the town can be had. Apart from its architectural peculiarities, this mosque, as the inscriptions in the building show, is the oldest place of Muslim worship in the town.
Jami Masjid Another:The road next leads to the Kati Darwaza, which marks the eastern limit of the Muslim fortifications. Outside the fort-walls in the same direction, is another Jami Masjid, which forms the biggest place of Muslim worship in the town. Entered through an arched entrance facing the south, the mosque has a vast rectangular courtyard in front and oblong water cistern in the south-east corner. The prayer hall is fairly large, being 101’ 6” X 24’ 5” internally, with eleven arched openings facing the east. On either side is a tall stone minaret in beautiful Bijapur style or the top is decorated with small turrets and a battlemented parapet. The flat ceiling of the mosque is supported on two rows of 10 pillars each in plan Chalukyan style.
RAMAGADDE: Ramagadde, in Raichur taluk, about 14 miles north of Raichur, is a beautiful island in the Krishna. It is looked upon as a holy place. According to a legend, Sri Ramachandra stayed here for a year and consecrated and worshipped a Shivalinga. It has a Veerashaiva Matha.
ROUDKUNDA: Roudkunda, in Sindhanur taluk, is situated about 6 miles to the east of Gorebal, the latter being on the Sindhanur-Gangavati road. The place seems to be an ancient one, since it is one of the important Neolithic sites in the district. To the west of the village, there are two hillocks, one of them having a small fort on it belonging to the 16th or 17th century A.D. Artifacts were found in abundance both in the valley between the two hillocks and on the slopes of the hillock having the fort.
SINDHANUR:Sindhanur is the headquarters of the taluk of the same name and is a commercial center for cotton. It occupies a central place in the Tungabhadra ayacut area in the district and is an important center of developmental activities under the Tungabhadra Project.
SOMALPUR:Somalpur, in Sindhanur taluk, about 14 miles from Sindhanur, is well known for its Ambadevi temple, situated at the foot of a hill, where annually a fair takes place in the month of Pushya, which is largely attended.
VENKATAPUR: Venkatapur, in Lingsugur taluk, is about 3 miles due north of Maski. To the south of this village are two hills, along the skirts of which 45 cairns were found in a good condition of preservation. Some of them are in pairs. On the western side of these hills, there is another group of cairns with double rings, the outer ring in some cases having a diameter of about 50 feet. On the northern side of the hills, there are a few traces of square constructions, which appear to be old.
MUDGAL FORT: The Mudgal fort consists of a citadel perched on a hill protected by a line of outer fortifications on the plain. These outer fortifications consist of a wide moat, the width of which varies reaching a s much as 50 yards at some places, followed by a scarp with a row of bastions and, after that, a narrow covered passage and finally a counter scarp with very massive bastions. The courses of masonry at several places are of Hindu style; but the arch-shaped parapet is Muslim in design. On a massive bastion opposite the Fateh Darwaza has been placed a gun with a Kannada inscription near the muzzle
RAICHUR FORT:The original fort at Raichur, according to a long inscription on a slab on the western wall, was built by one Raja Vitthala by order of Raja Gore Gangayya Raddivaru, minister of the Kakatiya queen Rudramma Devi, in the Shaka year 1216 (A.D. 1924). The walls of this fort are constructed of huge blocks of well-dressed and nicely fitted stones, without the aid of any cementing material whatever. The outer wall, which is constructed of comparatively rough stone masonry, however, is the work of the Muslims, as is shown by the various inscriptions in Arabic and Persian on its bastions and gateways. There are two gateways in the Hindu fortifications (Sailani Darwaza in the west and Sikandari Darwaza in the east) and five in the Muslim fortifications (Mecca in the west, Naurangi in the north, Kati in the east, Khandak in the south and Doddi in the south-west).
SHIMOGA DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Shimoga, as per traditional derivations ,the name pertains to Lord Shiva ( ‘Shiva – Mukha’ – Face of shiva , ‘Shivana – Mogu’ – Nose of shiva, ‘Shivana – Mogge’ – Buds of flowers meant for shiva ) . According to the legend, the place had the ashram of the famous sage ‘Durvasa’ who was noted for his sharpness of temper. He used to keep on the oven a pot boiling with sweet herbs. Once, some cowherds, who chanced upon it, tasted the beverage out of curiosity and called the place ‘Sihi- Moge’ (Sweet Pot) , Which was later called as ‘SHIMOGA’ .
JOG FALLS : The most thrilling spectacle in the entire western region of Karnataka are the world famous Jog Falls.
VANAKE-ABBEY FALLS : Most common name given to waterfalls around karnataka. Shimoga is also proud to have one falls called abbey falls. The falls are situated 4 Kms away from Agumbe, The sunset point in Thirthahalli Taluka. The falls are surrounded by lush green trees and natural beauty.
ACHAKANYA FALLS : 10 Kms from Thirthahalli on the way to Hosanagar near Aralsuruli you can find this eye catching water falls. The river Sharavathi takes a spectacular leap here to form this wonderfull falls.
HIDLAMANE FALLS : This falls is situated near Nittur in Hosanagar Taluka. To reach the falls you have to trek the rocky hills surrounded by dense lush trees. Don’t forget to carry your food stuff.
B.R.P DAM : Located 28 Kms from Shimoga city near Kuvempu university. The dam is constructed across river bhadra and the height of the dam is 194 ft. There are a number of islands created by the Bhadra river and you can enjoy the boat ride around this islands.
LINGANMAKKI DAM : 6 Kms from Jog falls this dam is constructed across river Sharavathi. The height of the dam is 1819 ft above sea level. Linganmakki dam is the main feeder reservoir for the Mahatma Gandhi Hydro Electric Power unit.
KODACHADRI : A glorious and enchanting mountain provides the perfect escape from the hectic pace of the hum drum of everyday life. Paradise for trekkers, the place attracts lot of trekkers around Karnataka state. Kodachadri is situated at 1411 ft above sea level and 115 kms from shimoga city. A beatific hill abode that overlooks the panoramic Western Ghats. It is clothed with splendid evergreen forests. The first portion of the hill is very steep and difficult to ascend. On the west, the hill descends almost perpendicular for about 4026 ft, meeting the South Kanara forests that lie below. The sea appears quite close, and on clear day, you can also see the ships go by. The famous temple town of Kollur is 12 Kms away. The steep hills challenges the trekkers for a adventurous trekking experience. Reaching the hill top makes you feel on top of the world.
KUNDADRI: On the way to Agumbe from Thirthahalli, 9 kms from Guddekeri near Begar you can find Kundadri hill. A adventurous place for trekking lovers. You can reach the hill top by tar road also but its a shaking experience if you walk up the mountain using the shortcut route. On reaching the top you can find the Parshwanath Chaityalaya, a stone structure. Kundadri hill is in fact a single gigantic monolithic rock formation with various outgrowths. A rough stone paved path leads one to the top of the hill. From the hill top you can see the twists and turns of the Thirthahalli-Agumbe road. This place is also a jain pilgrimage centre. Packing some light refreshments and moving on to ascend the hill would be a great idea.
HONNEMARADU: About 25 Kms from Sagar town on the way to Jog falls, a adventure place by name Honnemaradu welcomes the adventure loving people. The place is situated on the back waters of Sharavathi River. The place maintained by Adventurers, Bangalore. You can enjoy Kayoking, wind water surfing and all other water sports. On payment of small amount you get accomodation, food and water sport equipments. One important point to be noted before visiting this place is not to carry any Alcohol, Gutka, Non-Veg items. All this items are banned in this place.
TYAREKOPPA LION SAFARI: 10 Kms from Shimoga enroute Sagar town Lions, Tigers and other wild life animals roam around in the deep forests freely. The lion-tiger safari started way back in 1988 is a ideal picnic spot . The safari is spread around an area of 200 Hectares of dense forest. You can witness to the grace, diversity, color and marvel of nature and catch enlivening glimpses of Lions, Tigers, Cheetah, Bear, Deer, and rare migratory birds as they amble around in luxuriant habitat. Regular recreation and sight seeing outings are organised by the forest department for visitors.
SAKREBAYALU ELEPHANT CAMP: On the way to Thirthahalli from shimoga, 14 kms away from the city you can hear elephants reciting their lessons. Yes it’s not a joke its fact that you can find here many elephants being trained by training professionals. Elephant from the adjoining forests bathe at this spot before they re-enter their forest abode. Every morning these majestic creatures waddle down to waters and after playfully cleansed their bodies and satiated their thirst, they leave the waters before the rays of the sun get stronger. They are off to deal with their day’s routine only to return the following day. To catch a glimpse of these mammoths at play in the waters, get there before 9 a.m.
MANDAGADDE BIRD SANCTUARY: 32Kms from Shimoga city on the way to Thirthahalli you can hear the birds tweeting. This place is picnic spot for birds migrating from far places around the world. The place is surrounded by dense lush green forest and the flow of river Tunga has created a small island which adds to the beauty. The dense trees on the island provides shelter to migrating birds. Birds like Egrets, Bellakki Cormorant, Darter, Snake bird etc immigrate from different parts of the world during may season for breeding A high platform is built on the edge of river Tunga for bird watching. Boats are available for a closer watch.
GUDUVI BIRD SANCTUARY: This bird sanctuary is unique for many reasons but is the only sanctuary located in the midst of dense forest. Guduvi is one of the 5 famous bird sanctuaries of Karnataka. The place is 16 Kms from Soraba taluka of Shimoga district. This bird sanctuary is spread over an area of 73.68 Hectares. As per 1993 survey, it is told that 191 varieties of birds are found at this place. A natural lake and the trees give shelter to this bird. Some important birds found are White Pebis, Stone Bill, Egret, Cormorant, Snake bird, Heron etc. Different birds immigrate from other parts of the world in different seasons for breeding. A platform is built for a closer look of birds.
BALLEGAVI: This histrolical place is situated 21 Kms from Shikaripura taluka. This place is also known as Dakshina Kedara was the capital of Banawasi rulers in the 12th century. The place is associated with several eminent Veershaiva saints like Allama prabhu, Akka-Mahadevi, Animishayya and Ekantada Ramayya. There are remains of many temples, shrines, mastikals, viragals and nisidigals. Some important temples are Kedareshvara temple made out of soap stone and is a fine specimen of late chalukyan type, Tripurantakeshvara temple resembling the works of belur and halebedu, Prabhudeva temple is a smaller trikutchala structure, etc..
KELADI: was the first capital of Keladi Nayakas. The place is 6 Kms to the north of Sagar taluka. At almost the northern end of the village, there is a large courtyard which is enclosed in modern tiled verandah. In the middle of the courtyard stand 3 temples Rameshvara temple which is in the centre, Veerbhadreshvara temple which is to the right and the Parvati temple which is to the left. The Rameshvara & Veerbhadreshvara temples are a mixed pattern of hoysala & southern or Dravidian style. The Parvati temple is a small building which has old back portion built of stone and the front modern portion built of brick.. There is also a well maintained Keladi Museum, which has a collection of copper inscriptions, palm leaves and coins from Nayaka’s period.
IKKERI: situated 76 Kms to the noth of Shimoga and about 3 kms to the south of Sagar taluka. The word means “Two Streets”. This place was the capital of Keladi Nayakas for some years. The walls of the city were of great extent, forming three concentric enclosures. In the citadel was the palace build of mud and timber, adorned with carvings and false guildings. The only vestige of the former greatness of ikkeri is the temple of Aghoreshvara, a large and well proportioned stone-building, constructed in a mixed style with a unique conception.
KOODALI: 16 Kms from Shimoga, a place where rivers Tunga and Bhadra embrace and flow together from here, hence the name Koodali. A cultural place with rich heritage and temples around. It has a noted Smartha Monastery stated to have been founded in the 16th century by Jagadguru Narsimha Bharathi Swamigalu of Sringeri. Within the premises of the matha, there are shrines of Sharadamba and Shankaracharya. Outside, there are two temples of hoysala times dedicated to Rameshvara and Narasimha. Koodali is also known as Varanasi of the south, it is home to Rushyashrama, Brahmeshwara, Narasimha and Rameshwara temples. The 600 years old mutt of Shankaracharya still stands with inscriptions of Hoysala and Okkeri Kings.
CHANDRAGUTTI: situated in between Soraba taluka and Siddapura. The histrolical place and pilgrimage centre of Renukamba. The place was earlier known as Chandragupta Pura, Chandragutti pete, Gutti pete. 16 Kms from Soraba taluka, 848 mtrs above mean sea level on a rocky mountain bed one can find this place.
HUMCHA: 54 kms from Shimoga city is a renowned Jain Pilgrimage centre. The main attraction of Humcha is the Padmavathi Amma’s temple. The Panchakuta Basadi (Jain temple) of 10th & 11th Century and Jain Mutt are other places of interest.
BHADRAVATHI: The Lakshminarsimha temple, built by the Hoysalas in the heart of the town and the Rameshwara temple built on the banks of the river Tunga attract pilgrims from all parts of Karnataka and other states. Pilgrims frequent here for darshans of a holy dip in the river. Bhadravathi is also most prominent Industrial centre in Shimoga district. The renowned Sir M Vishweshwaraiah Iron & Steel factory, The Mysore paper Mills and Sugar Factories were harbingers of Karnataka’s industrial development. NAGARA: A 16th century place situated 19 Kms from Shimoga. This was also known as “Beendanoor”in the 16th century. This place was also capital of Keladi rulers and later on was captured by Hyder Ali. Other places of interest are Shivappanaika palace, Neelakenteshwara temple, Devagana tank and Gudde Venkataramana Swamy temple.
BANDALIKE: 35 Kms to the north of Shikaripura, a place famous for basadis and temples is Bandalika. Here you can find sculptures and writtings of Rastrakutas and Kadambas period. Other places of interest are Shantinath basadi, Sahasralinga Temple and Someshwara threemurthy temples.
SHIVAPPA NAIK PALACE: Situated on the banks of river tunga in the busy lanes of Shimoga city. A 16th century place built by Shivappa naik of Keladi. A good architectual piece built with rose wood. The palace is equipped with museum which has several interesting and rare archaeological collections of stone carvings and antiques of Keladi period. Recovered idols of Hoysala and Chalukya period from the early 16th century to late 18th century are displayed here.
SAINT THOMAS CHURCH: Situated in the heart of city. The church renovated and said to be second largest church in India with an area of 18000 square feet area. Also equipped with an prayer hall with an capacity to hold 5000 people at a time.
KANOOR FORT : situated in the dense forest 50 kms from Jogfalls on the way to bhatkal. This Fort of Keladi dynasty was constructed by Kari Maneesena Rani Abbaka devi (Spices queen).
KAVALEDURGA: 5056 ft above sea level is this magnificent fort on the hill. It is 16 Kms from Thirthahalli.
KUBETOOR: 25 Kms from Sorab is Kubetoor, has several old temples known for their architectural splendour, though now in a dilapidated condition it still exemplifies the aesthetic sense of the dynasties that reigned. The Veerabhadra and Durgi are worth a visit. The Kedarashewara Temple is a Chalukyan architectural showpiece.
TALAGUNDA: 5 Kms from Balligave lies Talagunda. Several ancient inscriptions are found here. The Pranseshwara temple is a must see. To the east of Talagunda is “Prabhudeva Gaddige”.
HEGGADU : 8 Kms from sagar, a small village known for its Non-Government Drama training institute called NEENASAM initiated by K.V.Subanna. The institute is well equipped with an indoor auditorium known as ‘Dr. Shivarama Karantha Rangamandira’. Regular workshops and training sessions, finds the place populated by renowned artists from all over the country.
TUMKUR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Tumkur District is in the eastern part of Karnataka. It is located to the west of Mysore. The town, Tumkur was established by Kante Arasu of the Mysore royal family and is the main commercial and business center. The region is filled with elevated land intersected by river valleysTumkur district is an administrative district in the state of Karnataka in India. The district headquarters are located at Tumkur. The district occupies an area of 10,598 km² and had a population of 2,584,711,
SIDDHAGANGA:A famous centre for pilgrimage, Siddhaganga has a temple dedicated to Siddhalingeshwara on a hillrock which is held in high esteem by devotees. At the entrance of this temple six shrines can be seen. Near this temple, amidst scenic surroundings, stands a Veerashaiva Matha. The Matha feeds thousands of students and pilgrims daily. This is one of the important educational centres.
SIRA: About 50 kms from Tumkur, Sira was founded by Rangappa Naik. Later, Sira was conquered by Ranadullah Khan, a general in Bijapur army. After the conquest, Malik Hussain was appointed Sira’s Governor. After the Bijapur kingdom fell to Aurangzeb, Dilawar Khan was appointed governor of Sira. He then built a fine palace here which is said to have inspired the palaces of Bangalore and Srirangapatna. He also laid out a beautiful garden that is said to have been the model for the Lalbagh Garden at Bangalore. Located in Sira is the Juma Masjid and the tomb of Malik Rihan Made from hewn stone, both these structures are fine examples of Saracenic architecture. Another monument worth seeng is the Ibrahim Rauza that contains many tombs. Built in the Hindu style of architecture, except for its minarets, this building has cornices and doorways with hindu motifs.
TURUVEKERE: About 12 Km, South of the Banasandra railway station. Turuvekere was once an ‘Agrahara’ or ‘Rent Free Village’ granted to scholarly Brahmins in the 13th century A.D. Turuvekere boasts of many fine Hoysala temples. The temple of Channakeshava is one of them. It was built by Mahadandanayaka Somanna who also built the famous Somnathpur temple. The Gangadhareshwara temple at Turuvekere has a Shivalinga with serpent hoods carved in a single piece of stone and is considered an example of fine sculpting. This temple also a bull finely carved in horne blend, which has retained its shine even today. To the east of the Gangadhareshwara temple is a large soapstone bell, the when tapped emits a metallic sound. The Moole Shankareshwara temple located in this village was built during the hoysala rule in 1260 AD.
TURUVEKERE: Yadiyur was the home of a famous Veerashaiva spiritual teacher and author, Totada Siddhalinga. His samadhi stands today in the Siddhalingeswara temple which is built in Dravidian style. This temple has a Ratha (Procession car) with six stone wheels. A car festival takes place annually in March-April and lasts a fortnight. This is a pilgrimage centre for Lord Shiva’s devotees.
SEEBI: Situated on the Tumkur Sira Road at distance of 30 kms from Tumkur, this village contains a beautiful temple of Narasimha. The terrakota and frescoes of this temple are of 18th century.
CHANNARAYANADURGA: Situated at a height of 3734 feet, Channarayana Durga was strategic fortress during , medieval times and many battles were fought for its possession. The fort was originally built by Channapa Gouda in the 17th century, a feudal lord from Madhugiri. Later the fort fell into the hands of the Mysore king and also the Marathas. Today Channarayana Durga is a popular trek route. It abounds in ayurvedic herbs because of which it is also called Siddharabetta associated with the Siddhas of Natha Pantha. At the bottom of the hill, there is a shrine of Murarimatha, a saint.
DEVARAYANA DURGA: Situated amidst hill and dense forests, Devarayana Durga seems as though it has stepped right out of a picture postcard.In the hilly terrain of Devarayana Durga, are various holy spots like the temples of Durga (Fort) Narasimha built by Mysore rulers in the Dravidian style of architecture, the Sanjivaraya temple dedicated to Hanuman and the temple of Kumbhi Narasimha. Near the Narasimha Temple are three sacred ponds called Narasimha Teertha, Parashara Teertha and the Pada Teertha. The Pada Teertha is inside a large cave. There is another cave with the statues of Lord Rama, his consort Sita and his brother Lakshmana. On going a little further from the hills, there is a natural spring called ‘Namada Chilume’. There are also some other springs nearby. The rivers Jayamangali and the Shimsha originate from these hill ranges. The place is quite cool in summer.
KAIDALA: Originally named Kridapura, Kaidala acquired its present name because of a supernatural incident believed to have taken place here, connected with the legendary sculptor Jakanchary. A flaw was pointed out in masterpiece by this sculptor by another young sculptor called Dankana. This resulted in the senior sculptor cutting off his right hand. On building the kaidala keshava temple, Jakanchary’s lost hand was restored and hence the name Kaidala (Kai means Hand in Kannda). To his great surprise, Jakanachary later found that Dankana was his own son.
MADHUGIRI: Surrounded by hills, Madhugiri is a prosperous town famous for its pomegranates. It has one of the finest hill forts in the state. A feudal family of Vijyanagar had this place as their capital. It was here that the queen of Keladi, Veerammaji and her son were exiled by Haider Ali, in 1763.Adjoining this fort is the Mallinatha Basti, a Jain temple. Apart from this temple Madhugiri also houses the Melleshwara and Venkteshwara temples. Both these temple have a huge pillars on which lamps are kept.
MARCONAHALLI: Situated about 25kms from Kunigal, Marconahlli is the site of a dam built across the Shimsha River. This dam which was built in 1939 led to the birth of an agricultural colony in 1942 which was run on modern lines.
PAVAGADA: Also known as Pavagada or ‘Snake Hill’, Pavagada was so named after the discovery of a stone with a snake engraved on it. The hill fort here was built by a Vijayanagara emperor in 1405, and it was the headquarters of a feudal lord of this empire.The fortified hill, standing at a height of 3000 feet, was attacked by the chiefs of Ratnagiri, Nidugall and Rayadurga. It was also attacked by the Marathas before being annexed by Haider Ali who further strengthened the fort. During the Srirangapatna campaign this fort fell to the combined might of the Marathas and the English. However, after the signing of the peace agreement, Tipu Sultan recaptured the fort.
ARALAGUPPE: Is a place in Tumkur district. 6 km from Banasandra railway station where there is a famous Kalleshwara temple in the Ganga-Nolamba style of the 9th century A.D. Its ceiling has wonderful dancing Shiva sculpture with musical accompanists and eight Dikpalas surrounding him with all their paraphernalia.There is a Chennakeshava temple of the Hoysala style. The image of Vishnu in the garbhagriha is magnificent. There are four Ganga temples at the place.
GORAVANAHALLI MAHALAKSHMI TEMPLE: About 30Km from Tumkur in Koratagere taluk there is a famous Lakshmi Temple whose idol is said to be self originated, there will be special poojas which will be performed on fridays.
NAMADHA CHILUME:Is one of the historical place which has a small Streak of water flowing, it is said that this streak of water is flowing from Threthra yuga it is said in history that during Rama – sitha vanavasa, Sitha was thirsty to quench her thirst Rama aimed a arrow to a Rock from which water splurged out since than this spring of water has never got dried up even during worst droughts.Source from which this water is flowing is unknown till today.it has thick forest and beautiful Deer Safari which is quite amusing. It has beautiful Travellers Bunglow which makes staying here more pleasant.This place is 62Km to 65Km from Bangalore.8km from Tumkur
SIDDARABETTA (Boodagavi): Boodagavi, in Koratagere taluk has a hill, Siddharabetta. It is an attractive centre of pilgrimage. An interesting feature of the hill is that it is hollow inside and one can ascend the hill which is in the midst of a forest and come down to its base inside through the hollows. There is a samadhi of Saint Gosala Siddheshvaraswamy which is visited by pilgrims from the surrounding parts, particularly on Mondays. It has a cave-temple enshrining a Linga at the foot of which is a perennial spring in the form of a well, which is said to be the source of the Suvarnamukhi River.
UDUPI DISTRICT (KARNATAKA):
SAINT MARY’S ISLAND: St. Mary’s Island also known as Coconut Island, are a set of four small islands in the Arabian Sea off the coast of Malpe in Udupi district of Karnataka State. They are known for their distinctive geological formation of columnar basaltic lava. They are just a few scattered projections of rock rising out of the western or Arabian Sea a round Malpe. Boats are available to go the island from Malpe.
MALPE BEACH: Malpe a natural port, about 6 kms to the west of Udupi, is an important port of the Karnataka coast. It is situated at the mouth of the Malpe/Udyavara River. The place has fascinating natural scenic view. It has been a centre of commercial activities for a long time.
UTTARA – NORTH KANNADA – DISTRICT (KARNATAKA):
TAGORE BEACH, KARWAR: The district headquarters and a port town is superb in its scenic beauty. The crescent shaped ‘Tagore Beach’ can match any beach in the world. It has also a recreational park, colourful music fountain, Toy train, Planetorium, an aquarium to add to its attraction. River Kali joins and forms ‘sangam’ at the end of the beach. To view sun set on the bridge across River Kali is an unforgettable experience.
DEVBAG: 7 Kms from Karwar it is located near the confluence of River Kali. It is a picturesque island fringed with casuarina groves. Approach is mainly through boat from Kodibag jetty. Jungle Lodges & Resorts provides unique experience of living in Log huts. Ensures wonderful privacy not normally seen in tourist spots. JLR provides scuba diving experience too. Various water sports is also being planned which would make the stay more entertaining.
SHEJJESWAR TEMPLE, SHEJWAD:4 Kms from Karwar, Shejwad boasts of a thousaqnd year old ancient temple of Shejjeswar or Siddeswar. The temple is said to be one of the five temples of Gokarna mythology where pieces of Atmalinga which Ravan was carrying, fell; the other four being Gokarn, Murudeswar, Dhareswar and Gunavanteswar. Devotees visit the temple in thousands on Mahashivaratri day
SHANTA DURGA TEMPLE, SADASHIVAGAD: Sadashivagad is situated at 6 Kms from Karwar on the northern bank of River Kali. Crossing the magnificent Kali Bridge you reach Sadashivagad, a place of historical importance. There are ruins of old fort of Sonda kings. Midway on the Sadashivagad hill is the 600 yrs old Shantadurga Temple, known for its serenity. From the peak of the hill, the view of the sun setting in the Arabian Sea is an experience in itself. There is also a 17th century Darga which attracts a lot of Muslim pilgrims. A Yatri nivas is being built on top of the hill by Dept. of Tourism
KURUMGAD ISLAND:4 Kms from Karwar shore is the Kurumgad island. There is Narasimha temple atop the hill in the island where an annual fair takes place. Scores of boats ply to the island on that day. The island is a private island. The owner is running a resort called The Great Outdoors in the island. It is a wonderful picnic spot and could get experience of a lifetime if one could stay
GUDDALLI PEAK: 6 Kms from Karwar, located at 1800 feet above sea level, the peak gives a panoramic view of the Karwar and the sea. Extremely cool round the year, it was a summer resort for the British. It is one of the highest peaks of Haiderghat range which stretches east and west between Kali River and Belikeri river and joins the Kaiga range at Kaiga. Guddehalli raises conspicuous for miles, an abrup sheet of granite with thickly wooded sides and a bare tapering point. A five kilometre trekking through mountain jungle crossing brooks and springs, takes you to this spot. The trek itself is a bonanza of enthralling experience.
KATYAYANI TEMPLE, AVERSA: About 8 kms north of Ankola, 25 Kms from Karwar, Aversa has a famous Katyayani Temple. The distinct feature of this temple is that the shrine is in the shape of a ship. It is family godess of Kharvis, a fishermen clan. The image of godess is said to have been found in the sea. The godess is worshipped with great solemnity during the nine nights of ‘Navarathri’ which precede ‘Dussera’ in October. Besides Kharvis the festival is solemnly attended by many dancing-girls and Konkanis.
BELEKERI BEACH: Moving towards Mangalore from Karwar on the National Highway, you have to take a deviation after 22 kms and proceed 4 kms to reach Belekeri Beach. You will not regret the detour. The vast grass lawn suddenly drops by 50’ to the beach providing a wonderful view of the sea. The land is surrounded by picturesque mountains. Watching sunset in the evening you would never like to leave the place
KUMTA TALUK-GOKARNA: Gokarna a very popular pilgrimage is known as Dakshina Kashi. Mythology says, Ravana kept the Athmalinga down on the ground against the instructions and could not lift it again. Hence the belief that Gokarn is Lord Shiva’s permanent abode. Kotitheertha is the holy pond near the temple. Devotees usually take bath in the pond before they enter the temple for pooja. Work of Cleaning up of the pond is being taken up.
OM BEACH: The Om Beach, named because of its shape, is 11 kms from Gokarn. Foreign tourists because of its seclusion and the privacy it offers regularly throng it. Adjacent to this beach are Half Moon beach and Paradise beach. Kudle beach is an other beach nearby which is popular with foreigners.
YANA: 28 Kms from Kumta and 65 Km from Sirsi, Yana is a nature’s wonder. Known for two gigantic rock formations of a height of 90 and 120 meters called Mohini Shikhara and Bhairaveshwara Shikhara. Encircled by thickly wooded forest, it is a trekker’s paradise. You can eliminate your fatigue by bathing in the beautiful cascades coming down the hill. Bhaireshwar temple, and a cave inside the rock formation are added attractions
ALVEKODI BEACH: Almost touching the Kumta town, towards south is Alvekodi village. One has to go through the fields to reach the beach. The beach is truly pristine, unspoilt. The white sand dazzles in the sun. Nearby is the Bhrahma devara gudda, with dilapidated old lighthouse. The hillock is a great picnic spot offering memorable sunset view
DHARESWAR: Dhareswar is about 8 kms south east of Kumta. On the hill slope is Mahadev temple, said to be around 800 years old. There are four inscribed tablets in the temple. It appears that the construction of temple was started by Rudroji Pandit and completed by Sonappa somewhere between 1500 and 1559. The temple is built of black stone and its walls are ornamented with sculptures. Round the temple are 5 holy pools, Rudra kund, Chakra, Shankh, Vasudha and Nagatirth. A fair is held every year in the middle of January
ST. FRANCIS XAVIER CHURCH, CHANDAVAR: Chandavar once a big city, is said to have been built by a Muslim King Sarpan Malik (apparently Sherif-ul-Mulk a General of Bijapur Kingdom). The city declined during the later part of 17th century. St. Francis Xavier Church is a large Roman Catholic Church is held in great veneration by local populace of all communities. The original church of St. Francis Xavier is recorded to have been built in 1678 during the reign of Basappa Nayak of Keladi Nayak dynasty. The church was destroyed in the end of 18th century which is attributed to Tippu Sultan, and was rebuilt in 1801. The church was rebuilt a second time in 1874. The old church, though an imposing edifice was judged to be beyond normal repairs, and so a new church was built in the area adjacent to the old church.
KADRA: Right at the foot of Western Ghats, Kadra is little of gem nature’s beauty. It became famous due to the dam across Kali River and its powerhouse. A beautiful park with fountains, cascades, caves, colourful trees and plants, rose garden, and a unique vedic garden depicting sun signs, planets, rain stars is coming up. Water sports are also being planned in the reservoir.
ANASHI WILD LIFE SANCTUARY: Anashi pass is in the Sahyadri Range (Western Gahats) 40 Kms north east of Karwar. From Kadra to Anashi is a 10 Kms of steep ghat section, through thick forest. Motoring through the ghat is an experience in itself with thick jungle, number of big and small water falls which are feast to the eyes. Wild life abounds in the area. Early mornings you are bound to come across, vixen, wild foul and flocks of peacocks. Quite often you can say hello to a panther crossing the road.
CHANNABASAVESHWARA TEMPLE ULAVI: Originally a temple of Chalukya style, it has been renovated and coloured. The pyre of the temple is adorned with statues of Shiva Sharanas (Devotees of Lord Shiva). A very famous Jatra is held on ‘Megha Purnima’ with great pomp. Free lunch and dinner is served to devotees every day.
MURDESHWAR: 16 Kms from Bhatkal to the north on Honnavar-Bhatkal NH 17. The famous Mahtobara Temple can today boast of the tallest Shiva statue in the world. The statue has special reflecting eyes, which makes statue alive. The temple on the beach itself attracts a large number of tourists because of the sea shore ambience
APSARA KONDA, HONNAVAR: 8 Kms from Honnavar, near the confluence of the Sharavathi river and the Sea, there a small water fall and a pool on a hillock, called Apsara Konda. Legend says that the Apsaras (Heavenly fairies) used to come here to bathe and relax. The place truly exudes heavenly beauty. There is Devi temple and a branch of Ramachandra mutt. There are several big caves on the hillock called ‘Pandavas caves’.With a view of the river, the sea, lthe islands, l; the lush green fields and coconut groves, the Apsarkonda hillock verily offers a feast to the eyes that see.
IDAGUNJI: 15 Kms from Honnavar and around 23 kms from Murdeswar is the ancient Idagunji Ganapati Temple. One has to take a detour from National Highway and travel around 7 kms interior to reach this beautiful temple. The temple is said to be around 800 years old, one of the oldest temples in Uttar Kannada district.
BASAVARAJA DURGA ISLAND: The Island of Basavaraja Durga is about a km from main land off Honnavar. You can reach the island through boats and small coasters. The landing place is at the south end where there is a ruined fort with eight mounted guns. The fort was built by Great Shivappa Naik of Bednur (1648-1670). The island is mostly level and has plenty of fresh water.
KARIKANNAMMA TEMPLE: 12 Kms from Honnavar is the Karikannamma Hill. Atop the hill which is a piece of natural beauty and offers panoramic view of the surroundings, is the temple of the deity. This deity is worshipped as different goddess by different people as Durge, Saraswati and Bhairavi. Sunset view on the Arabian Sea is a enthralling sight.
HIGUND ISLAND: Higund is a beautiful island in River Sharavati just before it joins the Arabian Sea. 3 kms from Honnavar – Bangalore National Highway brings you along this island. Presently the approach is from either Adkar village or Kodani village through country boat. The sunset view from this island is a lifetime experience.
GERUSOPPA / NAGARA BASTIKERI: Situated on bank of river Sharavati the old town of Gerusoppa also called NAGAR BASTIKERI is rich with historical monuments, the Chaturmukha basti being the most prominent one. It is a beautiful structure built in Vijayanagar style with Chaturasara plan. It has four entrances from four directions leading to garbhagrihas. There are four images of Tirthankaras, Vrishabha, Ajita, Sambhava and Abhinandan, seated in padmasana. One of this has been of late damaged. The engravings in this basti of dwarapalas and other mural desigtns are well executed with refinement.
GERUSOPPA VALLEY / RESERVOIR: Newly constructed Gerusoppa dam has created a unique reservoir in gerusoppa valley. The breath taking view of the valley can be had from atop a observation tower constructed by Forest dept, about 10 kms from Gerusoppa towards Jogfalls. Boat cruise in the reservoir through the valley is on the anvil.
HADUVALLI: 16 Kms from Bhatkal on the Bhatkal shimoga SH, Theerthankara Bastil at Haduvalli is a 14th century Jain temple. 24 Theerthankara idols are installed there. The place was formerly capital of the queen Channabyra Devi. There are two hills Chandragiri and Indragiri which attract the tourists for scenic beauty
BHATKAL: 40 Kms south of Honnavar, Bhatkal was the south most port in Bombay presidency. It is place of historical and archaeological interest. There are 13 temples / bastis built during the 15th and 16th centuries. Each one is a marvel in sculpture and worth visiting. But most of them are in dilapidated state. The important ones are,
CHOLESHWAR TEMPLE: Black basalt temple with beautiful carvings built by Cholamandala. It has tamil inscriptions.
CHANDRAKANTESHWAR BASTI: It is largest and finest Jain Temple in Bhatkal. The building is two storyed with length 112 feet and has an ‘agrashala’ and ‘bhogmantap’ The dhwaja stamb is an elegant single block 21’ high stone column raising from a platform of about fourteen feet square. Behind the basti is a smaller pillar 19’ high called ‘yakshabhrahma kambh’.
DANDELI: Dandeli, surrounded by thick jungle with River Kali dashing through furiously, is a nature lover’s paradise. Jungle Lodges Resorts has a fine tourist complex called ‘Kali Wilderness and Adventure Camp’. This is the only place in South India
KAVALA CAVES: Kavala caves or Siddan cave is situated at a distance of 27 Kms from Joida and 3200 feet above the sea level. About 150 feet inside the cave a Shiva Linga is present. A small stream of water falls on the Shiva Linga, which gives the feeling that an ‘abhishekha’ is performed to Lord Shiva. Shivarathri day is when devotees come in thousands.
SINTHERI ROCKS:20 Kms from Joida , at Sintheri Temple, River Kaseri flows with great speed before joining River Kali. Currents of water have formed beautiful rock caves and have created small cascades in the valley attracting a great number of tourists. From Dandeli village Gund is 3 kms. At Gund one has to step down some 133 steps to reach Sintheri rock which is 400 feet in height and 600 feet in width. Water flows around this sand stone round the year
DOOD SAGAR FALLS / CASTLE ROCK: Castle Rock is border village of the district beyond which is Goa. 10 Kms from Castle rock in the middle of thick forest, along the railway track, the Doodh Sagar falls gives a feast to the tourists’ eyes. The area is also a “trekker’s paradise”,
SYKES POINT, AMBIKANAGAR: Sykes Point, named after British Collector Sykes, is a breathtaking spot where one can seek unhindered view of the Kali River flowing through the valley below. Nagajhari Power house situated at the bottom of this peak can also be seen
SRI MALLIKARJUNA TEMPLE: It is learnt that this temple was built prior to the fort. It has a ‘navarang mantap’ in sanctum and Kadamba style dome. A stone writing says that Kadamba King Jayakeshi donated some lands to this temple in 1144
HALIYAL, SHIVAJI FORT: This ancient fort said to be built by Chatrapati Shivaji is beautiful image of Indian history which gives us a glimpse of the warring techniques of those times. The fort was later occupied by Sangolli Rayanna, a legendary small king, who fought with the British
SRI TULAJA BHAVANI TEMPLE, HALIYAL: This beautiful temple was established on 16th March 1996, by Sri Tulaja Bhavani Education and Dharmadatti trust, Haliyal, The 4 feet black stone idol of Godess Bhavani was carved in Sivar town, Kolar district. Thousands of devotees from all over Karnataka and states of Maharashtra and Goa visit this temple Everyday
YADGIR DISTRICT (KARNATAKA): Yadgir, popularly called as “Yadavagiri” by the local people, was once a capital of the Yadava Kingdom. Have rich historical and cultural traditions. Yadavas, the earliest Muslim empire of South India chose Yadgir to be their capital and ruled from here from 1347 to 1425 A.D. Mentioned as Yadgir in ancient inscriptions, Yadgir is popularly known as “Yadavagiri” by the locals. Yadgir district has its deep routs in history. The famous dynasties of the south, the Satavahans, the Chalukyas of Badami, the Rastrkuta, Shahis, the Aidil shahis, the Nizam Shahis have ruled over the district.
YADGIR FORT: Yadgiri it is dotted with many historical monuments and has a majestic hill fort with three rounds of fortifications. The Yadgir fort has a mix of influences, when it comes to architectural styles. There is Jain, Islamic and Shaivite touches in the fort. The barren landscape below offers a magnificent view.courtesy: www.karnataka.gov.in, www.allplacesindia.com & www.arrowtimesmedia.com